Choose artist...
Alfred Brendel

Live In Vienna

Decca Classics

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Schumann: Concerto for Piano & Orchestra in A Minor, op.54 - Allegro affettuoso  
2 Intermezzo (Andantino grazioso)  
3 Allegro vivace  
4 Brahms: Variations & Fugue on a Theme by Handel, op.24 - Aria  
5 Variation I  
6 Variation II  
7 Variation III  
8 Variation IV  
9 Variation V  
10 Variation VI  
11 Variation VII  
12 Variation VIII  
13 Variation IX  
14 Variation X  
15 Variation XI  
16 Variation XII  
17 Variation XIII  
18 Variation XIV  
19 Variation XV  
20 Variation XVI  
21 Variation XVII  
22 Variation XVIII  
23 Variation XIX  
24 Variation XX  
25 Variation XXI  
26 Variation XXII  
27 Variation XXIII  
28 Variation XXIV  
29 Variation XXV  
30 Fuga  
Show all tracks

For the first time, Decca releases Alfred Brendel's live recordings from Austrian Radio broadcasts (ORF) of the Schumann Piano Concerto in A Minor and Brahms' Variations and Fugue on a Theme by Handel. Recorded during Brendel's 70th Birthday residency in 2001, the Schumann Piano Concerto features the Vienna Philharmonic under Sir Simon Rattle. As Brendel has never recorded Brahms' Handel Variations in the studio, this album is the first commercially available Brendel recording of the piece.

Go to artist details