Choose artist...
Andris Nelsons - Boston Symphony

Dmitri Shostakovich: Under Stalin's Shadow Sym 6&7

Deutsche Grammophon

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


One-on-One with BSO Music Director Andris Nelsons
Andris Nelsons leads first BSO rehearsal
The BSO and Andris Nelsons announce a new partnrship with Deutsche Grammophon
1 Symphony #6 in B minor, Op.54 - Largo  
2 Allegro  
3 Presto - King Lear, Op. 58a  
4 Introduction and Ballad of Cordelia  
5 Fanfare #1  
6 Return from the Hunt  
7 Fanfare No. 4  
8 Approach of the Storm  
9 Scene on the Steppe  
10 Fanfare #2  
11 The Blinding of Gloucester  
12 The Military Camp  
13 Fanfare #5  
14 March - Festive Overture, Op. 96  
15 Original Version  
16 Symphony #7, Op.60 - 'Leningrad' / Allegretto  
17 Moderato poco allegretto  
18 Adagio  
19 Allegro non troppo  
Show all tracks

The Boston Symphony Orchestra and conductor Andris Nelsons continue their critically acclaimed Under Stalin's Shadow series on Deutsche Grammophon with the release of Shostakovich's Symphonies Nos. 6 & 7 together with the composer's Suite from the Incidental Music to King Lear and the Festive Overture on February 22. 

The new double-disc set follows the 2018 release of a compelling pairing of Shostakovich's Fourth and Eleventh Symphonies, which has been nominated in the Best Orchestral Performance and Best Engineered Album (classical) categories for the 2019 Grammy Awards.

Go to artist details