Home » Artists » Ain't Got Long

Art of Time Ensemble: Bio

It's a magical moment when you discover music that feels like you have arrived home. When it delivers such a clean hit to the heart, you are sure it was meant just for you. For fans of the Art of Time Ensemble, that's the kind of homecoming wefeel at every concert, and at the release of every new recording.

Art of Time's 6th album of popular song arrangements is called Ain't Got Long, and it plays out like a Greatest Hits, with all the tracks arranged by long time Art of Time collaborator Johnathan Goldsmith.

"Whenever we have experimented with popular music, the challenge has always been to find that fine line between remaining faithful to the original in terms of melody and form, and pushing the boundaries as much as possible in every other conceivable way. Over the last twenty years, we have collaborated with dozens of amazing arrangers but Jonathan's charts were always the most adventurous and nearest to my heart. I've been wanting to make this album for many years." Andrew Burashko, Artistic Director

The songs on this album come from the work Goldsmith did for the Art of Time series called The Songbooks: Popular songs were matched with skilled arrangers and adventurous singers from the world of jazz and pop. The effect is electrifying.

Arranging a song we already know has a remarkable effect on us, the audience. We can't passively listen to these arrangements, because we all bring our feelings and memories of the song to the table. In a meaningful way, Art of Time makes the listener feel that we are part of the creation process too.

In listening to Goldsmith's arrangements collected on Ain't Got Long, you get the sense he is playing 3D chess with these songs we know and love. His arrangement of Robert Johnson's Love in Vain, sung by Madeline Peyroux is a foggy haze of sadness, mystery, confusion, that cracks open the heart. Paul Simon's Boy in the Bubble, sung by Gregory Hoskins has a teleidoscopic effect. Somehow Goldsmith has us seeing every aspect of the song all at once.

Perhaps the most adventurous arrangement belongs to Irving Berlin's What Will I Do, sung by Madeline Peyroux. Goldsmith creates a moving floor here, one that Madeline navigates like a midnight walk on a ship's deck on rolling seas. Radiohead's Exit Music (For a Film), is sung beautifully by Jessica Mitchell. She soars over a jet stream of strings and piano.

Canadian Sarah Slean, a familiar voice for Art of Time fans, returns with the album closer, an astonishing take on Lou Reed's Sad Song. She and Goldsmith create space, lift and openness; things we don't expect to feel when sinking into a Lou Reed song.

That Goldsmith has plenty experience scoring for film is evident, for every track lives in its own world, its own musical palette. There are very few ensembles that have the depth and range of talent to take Goldsmith on. That is Art of Time's genius, for it has every colour to choose from in its paintbox. Classical, jazz, new music, rock, folk, electronic: Art of Time draws the finest musicians from all genres to their projects. This ensemble is a musician's dream, and a rare gift for any serious music fan.

"I created Art of Time with the aim of exploring where classical music intersect with other styles of music. I wanted to celebrate great music, period, no matter what the style and to present concerts without any barriers between the genres." Andrew Burashko, Artistic Director.

Ain't Got Long will transport you to a zone of possibility and uncertainty - it's ok, you won't be alone, for Art of Time asks the same of the musicians, the singers and even the song itself. It's a thrilling ride for everyone. Ain't Got Long is a deep, dark well and each listen reveals something new. There is so much to explore here, these songs are mysteries to solve, over time and repeated listens.

But isn't that how we want our music? Deep, wide and full of heart?

With Ain't Got Long, Art of Time has gifted us with the one thing we thought these classic songs could no longer offer us: a chance to discover them all over again.

1 Ain't Got Long  
2 Love In Vain  
3 The Boy In The Bubble  
4 River  
5 Someone To Watch Over Me  
6 Exit Music (For A Film)  
7 Calling All Angels  
8 What'll I Do  
9 After Mardi Gras  
10 Sad Song  
Gregory Hoskins - Calling All Angels
Madeleine Peyroux - Love in Vain
Gregory Hoskins - The Boy in the Bubble

With its sixth inimitable album Ain't Got Long, the Art of Time Ensemble – Canada's genre-busting ensemble that fuses high art with popular culture – welcomes a distinctive gallery of guest artists to reimagine ten of the most arresting and unforgettable songs in the contemporary experience. Ain't Got Long is streaming worldwide.

Singers Madeleine Peyroux, Gregory Hoskins, Jessica Mitchell and Sarah Slean join the Art of Time Ensemble, led by its founder/artistic director Andrew Burashko, on the new recording, reinterpreting songs that range from the Gershwins' "Someone to Watch Over Me" to Radiohead's "Exit Music (for a Film)." Composer Jonathan Goldsmith, who created the settings for each song, is also the album's producer.

Crossover Media Projects with: Art of Time Ensemble