Choose artist...
Arthur Sharpe

The Electrical Life of Louis Wain (OMPS)

Milan Records - Sony Masterworks

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Electricity  
2 Wain's World  
3 Miss Richardson Dines  
4 Caroline's Rock  
5 Romantic Life  
6 A Levity in Love  
7 Young Louis  
8 I'm a Woman  
9 Elizabeth Terrace  
10 Bendigo Boxing  
11 Precious Weeks  
12 Golfing  
13 A Kittens' Christmas Party  
14 Emily's Shawl  
15 Popular Wain  
16 Wain's World II (Bendigo Lodge)  
17 An Extraordinary New Discovery  
18 NYC (Electric Jungle)  
19 Onwards but Where  
20 Ocean Liner  
21 Electric Wain  
22 Kaleidoscope Cats  
23 The Louis Wain Fund  
24 The Electrical Life of Louis Wain  
Show all tracks

Milan Records today releases THE ELECTRICAL LIFE OF LOUIS WAIN (ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK) by composer ARTHUR SHARPE. The album features score music written by Sharpe for the film, which tells the true story of Louis Wain, the eccentric British artist known for his psychedelic depictions of cats. Working in close collaboration with his brother and the film's director Will Sharpe, the composer was tasked with creating a soundscape that carries the viewer not only across time spans but also on the trips into Louis' mind, which become more frequent and extreme as the film unfolds. Sharpe's score speaks to Louis' chaotically beautiful and ever-changing world, combining traditional orchestral instrumentation with an ensemble of unorthodox instruments like the musical saw, the theremin (performed on the score by a descendant of Leon Theremin himself), the mellotron, and more. The resulting 24-track collection captures both the electrical innovations of the time period that inspired Louis' artwork as well as the sweetness and levity inherent in both his own demeanor and the cats he became famous for representing. 

Go to artist details