Choose artist...
Bill Frisell

Big Sur

Sony Masterworks | OKeh

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Bill Frisell - Big Sur EPK
Bill Frisell - Far Away (Big Sur - Chapter IV)
1 The Music of Glen Deven Ranch
2 Sing Together Like a Family
3 A Good Spot
4 Going to California
5 The Big One
6 Somewhere
7 Gather Good Things
8 Cry Alone
9 The Animals
10 Highway
11 A Beautiful View
12 Hawks
13 We All Love Neil Young
14 Big Sur
15 On the Lookout
16 Shacked Up
17 Walking Stick (for Jim Cox)
18 Song for Lana Weeks
19 Far Away
Show all tracks

Legendary jazz guitarist Bill Frisell's first release on OKeh Records, Big Sur, features all-new music commissioned by the Monterey Jazz Festival which premiered at their festival in 2012.  While staying at the Glen Deven Ranch, Frisell was captivated by the beauty and grandeur of the Big Sur, California coastline which inspired him to write this transcendent new music. He is joined on the recording by the talented musicians of his Big Sur Quintet; Jenny Scheinman (violin), Eyvind Kang (viola), Hank Roberts (cello) and Rudy Royston (drums).

Go to artist details