Choose artist...
Billy Strayhorn

Lush Life

Blue Note

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Independent Lens 'BILLY STRAYHORN: LUSH LIFE' | Preview| PBS
Strayhorn - Billy Taylor and Marian McPartland Remember
1 Fantastic Rhythm  
2 Rain Check  
3 Lush Life  
4 Satin Doll  
5 Something to Live For  
6 Johnny Come Lately  
7 Day Dream  
8 Tonk  
9 Chelsea Bridge  
10 My Little Brown Book  
11 Valse  
12 Blood Count  
13 The Flowers Die of Love  
14 Lotus Blossom  
15 So This Is Love  
16 Lush Life Radio Special  
Show all tracks

Blue Note Records will release the companion soundtrack to Billy Strayhorn: Lush Life, a 90-minute documentary film about the pioneering African-American composer, arranger and pianist. The film will present Strayhorn's fascinating life as it has never been told before, showcasing his talent and passions, as well as taking a hard look at his complex relationship with Duke Ellington and illuminating the issues that prevented Strayhorn from receiving the full recognition he deserved. It will debut nationally as part of PBS's Independent Lens series, on February 6, 2007.

Billy Strayhorn: Lush Life, the soundtrack, will feature 15 Strayhorn compositions performed by several of today's jazz stars including Blue Note artists Bill Charlap, Joe Lovano, and Dianne Reeves, as well as piano legend Hank Jones and special guest Elvis Costello. These vibrant new performances are also captured visually and featured throughout the film.

Strayhorn's 29-year collaboration with Ellington produced a body of work that has no rival in originality and range-from unforgettable popular songs and jazz compositions to orchestral suites and theatrical scores.

From the opening track, Bill Charlap's sparkling solo piano version of "Fantastic Rhythm," an early composition from a Cole Porter-style musical revue of the same name written in 1935, the vitality of Strayhorn's timeless music is evident. The following performances display the remarkable breadth and depth of his writing as well, with compositions that span more than 30 years. Charlap also offers a solo piano version of one of Strayhorn's early classical works, "Valse," and on one of the album's highlights joins the legendary pianist Hank Jones for a spirited four-hands rendition of "Tonk" (which was originally performed four-hands by Strayhorn and Ellington).

Go to artist details