Choose artist...

Violin on Stage - NFM Wrocław Phil.

Deutsche Grammophon

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Polonaise De Concert Op.4  
2 Pas De Deux (Arr. Rot For Violin & Orchestra)  
3 Carmen Fantasie  
4 Dance of the Blessed Spirits (Arr. Rot For Violin & Orch.)  
5 Meditation  
6 Introduction Et Rondo Capriccioso Op.28 R.188  
7 Mon Coeur S'ouvre a Ta Voix (Arr. Rot For Violin & Orch.)  
8 Legende Op.17  
9 Fantasia On Themes From Gounod's Faust Op.20  
Show all tracks

A superstar in her homeland and in high demand worldwide as a soloist, South Korean violinist Bomsori now presents her solo debut album on Deutsche Grammophon. Violin on Stage includes works written for or inspired by opera or ballet. Recorded at the state-of-the-art National Forum of Music in Wrocław last December with the NFM Wrocław Philharmonic and its Music Director Giancarlo Guerrero, the album also captures the close bond Bomsori feels with Poland, its music and its musicians.

The violinist's chosen repertoire reflects her desire to communicate with her audiences through her instrument's expressive voice. "I'm not a loud person – I usually don't talk much in everyday life," she says. "But that's why I love playing the violin, because I can speak and communicate through music. I've loved singing and ballet since I was a small child and am always moved by hearing voices and watching dancers. I wanted to bring that special spirit of poetry and drama to listeners through my instrument, which can sing freely in these wonderful pieces."

Go to artist details