Choose artist...

House of Belonging

Release Date: September 8, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Interview w/ WGTE's Mary Claire Murphy
Call Across
Holding Our Breath
Hear Me Out Part Two
1 Craig Hella Johnson: Reaching (3:14)  
2 Kevin Puts: Home (6:37)  
3 Derrick Skye: Black Ocean: Anthems of a Crowd 7 (6:32)  
4 Alex Berko: Sacred Place (20:42) / (I) Opening Prayer (0:48)  
5 (II) Amidah (3:32)  
6 (III) Shema (4:48)  
7 (IV) Mi Shebeirach (3:51)  
8 (V) Kaddish (4:46)  
9 (VI) Closing Prayer (2:47)  
10 Moira Smiley: Haiku (3:10)  
11 Ross Lee Finney: See How the Earth (4:12)  
12 Shara Nova: House of Belonging (5:55)  
13 Michael Schachter: O Vorsehung (6:32)  
14 Margaret Bonds: Joy (2:12)  
15 Alex Berko: You Through Me (8:52)  
16 Kevin Puts: Evergreen (6:26)  
17 Shara Nova: I Have Never Loved Someone (4:11)  
Show all tracks

Conspirare, the GRAMMY® Award-winning choir known for expanding the boundaries of choral performance, will release House of Belonging on September 8 as they begin their 30th Season.

House of Belonging is a dynamic and timely collection of American music for voices and with instruments featuring a collaboration with the internationally-renowned Mir? Quartet. Craig Hella Johnson and Conspirare commissioned composers Alex Berko, Shara Nova, Kevin Puts, Michael Schachter, and Derrick Skye especially for the collaboration with the Mir? Quartet and the resulting album. Music of Margaret Bonds, Ross Lee Finney, Craig Hella Johnson, and Moira Smiley completes the album.

Curated and conducted by Craig Hella Johnson, the album showcases the unique combination of choral virtuosity and extraordinarily beautiful human expression in works by composers and poets diverse in age, geography, and ethnicity who speak to our internal and external sense of home and belonging. Each composer, in their unique voice, offers a reflection point for listeners.

Go to artist details