Home » Artists » Wendy ( OMPS )

Dan Romer & Benh Zeitlin: Bio

Dan Romer is an American music producer, singer-songwriter, and film composer based in Los Angeles.

As a film composer, Romer's scores include four-time Oscar-nominated Beasts of the Southern Wild, Beasts of No Nation, Chasing Coral, Gleason, Good Doctor and the Emmy-winning Jim: The James Foley Story. Romer scored the Ubisoft video game Far Cry 5 released on March 27, 2018.

He has produced music for numerous artists including A Great Big World and Christina Aguilera, whose single "Say Something," topped charts around the world, hit 6x Platinum, sold over 7 million copies, and won a 2015 Grammy. Dan co-produced "Treat You Better" by Shawn Mendes which reached #1 on the iTunes chart and #3 on the US Top 40 pop radio charts in September 2016. He was set to compose the James Bond film No Time to Die, but was reportedly replaced by Hans Zimmer due to "creative differences".

Benjamin Harold "Benh" Zeitlin (/ˈbɛn ˈzaɪtlɪn/; born October 14, 1982) is an American filmmaker, composer, and animator best known for directing the 2012 film Beasts of the Southern Wild.

Zeitlin was born in Manhattan and raised in Sunnyside, Queens, and in suburban Hastings-on-Hudson, NY. He is a graduate of Hastings High School and Wesleyan University. He was born to writers and folklorists Mary Amanda Dargan and Steven Joel Zeitlin, who founded the NYC non-profit cultural organization City Lore. His father, who is Jewish, spent most of his childhood in Brazil, and his mother comes from a rural, Protestant background in Darlington, South Carolina.

In 2004, Zeitlin co-founded the Court 13 independent collection of filmmakers, named after a neglected Wesleyan University squash court that he and his friends had once commandeered as a filming location. Zeitlin and his younger sister Eliza moved to New Orleans while he was making his first short film, Glory at Sea, in 2008.

In 2012, Zeitlin's first feature, Beasts of the Southern Wild, adapted from a play entitled Juicy and Delicious by Lucy Alibar, won the Caméra d'Or award at the Cannes Film Festival, the Grand Jury Prize: Dramatic at the Sundance Film Festival, and the Grand Jury Prize at the 2012 Deauville American Film Festival. The film went on to earn the Los Angeles Film Festival's Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature and the Seattle International Film Festival's Golden Space Needle Award for Best Director. Zeitlin was also given a Humanitarian Award for his work on the film at the Satellite Awards 2012. Notably, Zeitlin both directed Beasts of the Southern Wild and co-composed the score.

Zeitlin at the Fantasy Film Festival in Berlin, August 26, 2012.

For his directorial work and screenplay in Beasts of the Southern Wild, Zeitlin collected several additional awards and nominations. At the Gotham Independent Film Awards in 2012, he won the Breakthrough Director Award. At the same awards ceremony, Zeitlin received the inaugural Bingham Ray Award, which honors the independent filmmaker who died in 2012. Zeitlin also won a Humanitas Prize (as co-writer/director; shared with Alibar as co-writer), amongst other awards. He has also received nominations for two Academy Awards at the 85th Academy Awards: Best Director and Best Adapted Screenplay (Lucy Alibar, Benh Zeitlin), and the film itself was nominated for Best Picture.

In 2019, it was revealed that Zeitlin was directing his next feature Wendy in Montserrat, an island south of Antigua. Inspired by Peter Pan, Zeitlin described the film as 'a friendship-love story-adventure of her and a joyous, reckless, pleasure-mongering young boy as they swirl in and out of youth and as the ecosystem around them spirals toward destruction.'

1 Sneak Away  
2 Straight On 'till Morning  
3 The Haunted Train  
4 Into The Night  
5 Neverbirds  
6 The Mother  
7 Never Grow Up  
8 The Old Hand  
9 Where Lost Boys Go  
10 Want To Fly?  
11 To Grow Up is a Great Adventure  
12 Battle for Manana  
13 I Love My Mother  
14 Counting the Days  
15 The Story of Wendy  
16 Once There Was a Mother  
Official Trailer
Q&A with director Benh Zeitlin & composer Dan Romer

Milan Records today announces the February 28 release of WENDY (ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK) with music by award-winning composer, songwriter and producer DAN ROMER and the film's award-winning director BENH ZEITLIN.  Available for preorder now, the album features music co-written by the duo for Zeitlin's vivid reimagining of Peter Pan, which made its world premiere at Sundance Film Festival and debuts in theaters on February 28 from Searchlight Pictures.  The album is the latest in a series of scoring collaborations for the duo that includes both Zeitlin's own critically-acclaimed, breakout film Beasts of the Southern Wild as well as additional titles Brimstone & Glory and Mediterranea.  

Crossover Media Projects with: Dan Romer & Benh Zeitlin