Home » Artists » The Lodge OMPS

Danny Bensi - Saunder Jurriaans: Bio

Danny Bensi and Saunder Jurriaans are two award-winning film composers. They have been playing music together for over twenty years. In the last eight years, they have completed well over 100 acclaimed film and TV scores. Before moving to New York in 2001, Danny was raised studying the cello in Europe, while Saunder grew up playing guitar in Seattle's thriving music scene. As a duo, they are known for bold unpredictability, uniqueness, and their ability to interpret a wide range of genres for their scores. Drawing from an array of modern classical styles and beyond, their compositions are filled with atypical orchestrations, sensuous melodies, and visceral soundscapes. 

One of their first films, Martha Marcy May Marlene (Dir. Sean Durkin) garnered much attention for its sparse and suspenseful score. Soon after, their sinister score for Enemy (Dir. Denis Villeneuve) won "Best Musical Score" at the Canadian Screen Awards. In 2015, they scored Joel Edgerton's acclaimed suspense thriller The Gift. Some more recent films include The Autopsy of Jane Doe, Joel Edgerton's Boy Erased, and The Current War.  Upcoming films include The Lodge, The Wolf Hour, The Rental, and Countdown. In TV, Danny and Saunder are scoring all of Jason Bateman's series Ozark (Netflix), American Gods (STARZ), On Becoming a God in Central Florida (SHOWTIME), Nos4a2 (AMC), and Fear the Walking Dead (AMC). Upcoming TV shows include Omens (Marvel) and the HBO's crime thriller The Outsider based on the Stephen King novel. 

Danny and Saunder have also written remarkable documentary scores for LA 92 (Nat Geo), Amanda Knox (Netflix), and The Wolfpack (Netflix/Sundance Grand Jury Prize Winner), and recently released Tell Me Who I Am (Netflix). In addition, Danny and Saunder have also successfully ventured into the video game world with their score for Ubisoft's For Honor.

1 The Lodge  
2 Balloons and Whispers  
3 Preparing  
4 Nose Bleeds and Crucifixes  
5 Ready to Go  
6 Scar  
7 The Ice  
8 The Painting  
9 Shrine  
10 Checking In  
11 Undercovers  
12 Nightmare  
13 Repent  
14 Should We Pray Now?  
15 The Cross House  
16 Flowers  
17 Crucifix  
18 Obituary  
19 We Have to Stop This  
20 Back to the Lodge  
21 Murder  
22 Sacrifice  
23 Last Supper  
Official Trailer

Milan Records today releases THE LODGE (ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK) with music by DANNY BENSI & SAUNDER JURRIAANS (Ozark, Chef's Table, Fear The Walking Dead).  Available everywhere now, the album features score music written by the duo for the chilling horror film, which made its debut at last year's Sundance Film Festival.  Directed by Veronika Franz and Severin Fiala and starring Riley Keough, Jaeden Martell, Lia McHugh, Alicia Silverstone and Richard Armitage, The Lodge makes its US theatrical debut today via NEON. 

Crossover Media Projects with: Danny Bensi - Saunder Jurriaans