Home » Artists » We Are Who We Are (Original Series Score)

Devonte Hynes: Bio

Producer, multi-instrumentalist, composer, songwriter and vocalist Devonté Hynes is one of the most influential voices in music today. Raised in England, Hynes started out as a teenage punk in the UK band Test Icicles before releasing two orchestral acoustic pop records as Lightspeed Champion.  In 2011, he released Coastal Grooves, the first of four solo albums under the moniker Blood Orange.  His 2016 album, Freetown Sound, was released to critical acclaim, and saw Hynes defined as one of the foremost musical voices of his time, receiving comparisons to the likes of Kendrick Lamar and D'Angelo for his own searing and soothing personal document of life as a black man in America.  His 2018 album, Negro Swan, was released to equally rapturous response, exploring elements of black depression and identity.  It was followed by a mixtape entitled Angel's Pulse in 2019.  He has collaborated with Solange Knowles, fka twigs, ASAP Rocky, Puff Daddy, Janet Mock, and many more, and was recently one of four artists invited to the Kennedy Center to perform alongside Philip Glass. In addition to his production work, he scored the film Palo Alto, directed by Gia Coppola, and has scored the film Queen & Slim, by Lena Waithe and directed by Melina Matsoukas.

1 The Long Ride II  
2 Let Yourself Go I  
3 Let Yourself Go II  
4 The Last Day  
5 Fraser's Bedroom  
6 He Just Left  
7 Notte Transfigurata I  
8 The Long Ride I  
9 Good Job, Soldier  
10 Body of Me  
11 Amorous Love  
12 Notte Transfigurata II  
13 Julius Eastman - Stay On It  
14 Julius Eastman - Gay Guerilla  
15 John Adams - Century Rolls II Manny's Gym  
16 John Adams - Two Fanfares for Orchestra / Short Ride in A Fast Machine  

Milan Records today announces the release of Luca Guadagnino's WE ARE WHO WE ARE (ORIGINAL SERIES SCORE) featuring music by producer, multi-instrumentalist, composer, songwriter and vocalist DEVONTÉ HYNES. Available everywhere Friday, October 2, the album features 12 score tracks written by Hynes for HBO®'s new coming-of-age drama series, as well as four previously released instrumental tracks from acclaimed composers Julius Eastman and John Adams.  From Luca Guadagnino (Call Me By Your Name), We Are Who We Are made its critically-acclaimed debut on HBO and HBO MAX September 14 and airs Mondays at 10:00PM ET.

Crossover Media Projects with: Devonte Hynes