Choose artist...
Echo Collective

Johannsson - 12 Conversations with Thilo Heinzmann

Deutsche Grammophon

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Johannsson: 12 Conversations with Thilo Heinzmann / Manifest  
2 Low  
3 Stuk  
4 Shell  
5 Zurich  
6 Harm  
7 Lacrimosa  
8 Pol  
9 Form  
10 Arc  
11 Danse  
12 Gold  
Show all tracks

Jóhann Jóhannsson's sudden and untimely death in February 2018 put an end to his unique practice of bringing different art forms together. The Icelandic composer was known for his inventiveness in allowing music and literature, music and theatre, music and film to communicate with one another in his works, and for combining classical and electronic elements with original, profound and often melancholic results. 

British philanthropist and art collector Richard Thomas was fascinated by this process of breaking down artistic boundaries. He came up with the idea of commissioning a work that would establish a dialogue between music and the visual arts, with neither form overpowering the other, and in which the production and interpretation aspects of each would blend together to create a single entity. Thomas already had an artist in mind for his project – Berlin-based painter Thilo Heinzmann. He in turn thought instantly of Jóhann Jóhannsson. 

Go to artist details