Choose artist...
Ensemble for These Times (E4TT)

The Guernica Project

Centaur Records
Release Date: June 24, 2022

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


CD Trailer
1 Mercedes Zavala: La colección de haikus / 1 Haiku read by Mercedes Zavala 0:20  
2 2 Haiku read by Kenya Autie 0:39  
3 3 Haiku read by Ron San Miguel 0:44  
4 4 Haiku read by Pilar Marin Gila 0:50  
5 5 Haiku read by Claudia Montero 0:36  
6 6 Haiku ready by Isabel Pérez Dobarro 0:58  
7 7 Haiku read by Jacobo Durán-Loriga 1:43  
8 8 Haiku read by Juan Garcia-Herreros 1:48  
9 Jeffrey Hoover (1959-2021): Guernica (2016) (19:27) / Ultimate Betrayal 6:18  
10 Marketplace 4:36  
11 Eyewitness 4:09  
12 Canvas 4:23  
13 Jeffrey Hoover / Burning Giraffe (2015) 10:47  
14 Mario Carro / Alta mar  
15 David Garner / Ricercar on Pablo Picasso (2017) 3:31  
16 David Garner / Albeniz (from Cinq Hommages, rev. 1987) 3:23  
17 David Garner (b. 1954): El alma y la memoria / Mi corazón se ha dormido? 2:58  
19 Desde el umbral 2:25  
20 Y podrás conocerte recordando 2:25  
Show all tracks

Award-winning San Francisco contemporary classical chamber group Ensemble for These Times (E4TT) will release its fourth album, The Guernica Project on June 17 via Centaur Records, commemorating the 85th anniversary of the 1937 bombing of Gernika (Spain) by Nazi forces and Picasso’s masterpiece in response to the tragedy. E4TT will also make new podcast, ‘For Good Measure,’ available on multiple platforms, starting June 6.

On Monday, April 26, 1937, Nazi and Italian forces carpet-bombed the Basque town of Guernica in support of Francisco Franco’s right-wing overthrow of the Spanish Republic. That year, Spanish artist Pablo Picasso (1881-1973) had been asked to create a mural for the Spanish Pavilion at the Paris Expo.  From his exile in France and at the height of his artistic powers, Picasso had not yet settled on a topic. Although his initial designs were apolitical in nature, when the attack on Guernica took place. Fate had spoken: Guernica would be his topic.

Ensemble for These Times’ will commemorate the 85th anniversary of Pablo Picasso’s iconic “Guernica” with new music by four modern Spanish and American composers. E4TT premiered “The Guernica Project” in April 2017, marking the 80th anniversary of the 1937 massacre/conflagration, and Picasso’s monumental response to it. EATT toured the project performing in Madrid, Spain that October. This recording, which commemorates the 85th anniversary, features seven pieces by four modern composers, two from Spain and two from California in the U.S.   


Go to artist details