Choose artist...
Evgeny Kissin

The Salzburg Recital

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: August 8, 2022

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



1 Berg: Piano Sonata, Op. 1  
2 Khrennikov: Three Pieces for Piano, Op. 5 / III. Dance  
3 Khrennikov: Five Pieces for Piano, Op. 2 / I. Vivace  
4 II. Andante con moto  
5 III. Moderato  
6 IV. Andante  
7 V. Allegro vivace  
8 Gershwin: Preludes / I. Allegro ben ritmato e deciso  
9 II. Andante con moto e poco rubato  
10 III. Allegro ben ritmato e deciso  
11 ?excerpt,?Chopin: Two Nocturnes Op. 62 / No. 1 in Bb Major  
12 Chopin: Impromptu No. 1 in A flat major, Op. 29  
13 Chopin: Impromptu No. 2 in F sharp major, Op. 36  
14 Chopin: Impromptu No. 3 in G flat major, Op. 51  
15 Chopin: Scherzo No. 1 in B minor, Op. 20  
16 Chopin: Polonaise No. 6 in A flat major, Op. 53 'Héroïque'  
17 excerpt,?Mendelssohn: Songs without Words, Book 3 Op. 38 / VI. Andante con moto in A-Flat Maj  
18 Kissin: Four Piano Pieces, Op. 1 / II. Dodecaphonic Tango  
19 Chopin: Scherzo No. 2 in B flat minor, Op. 31  
20 excerpt,?Debussy: Suite Bergamasque / III. Clair de lune  
Show all tracks

In August 2021, as the Salzburg Festival made a meticulously planned return to full capacity, Evgeny Kissin drew a sell-out crowd to the city’s Grosses Festspielhaus. He treated his audience to a strikingly original programme of works by Berg, Chopin, Gershwin and, to the surprise of some, Khrennikov. A generous selection of encores featured Mendelssohn and Debussy, as well as more Chopin and one of Kissin’s own compositions. The pianist is quick to note that he is always “more inspired in front of an audience”, and on this occasion his choice of music and spellbinding artistry combined to create a performance which, despite lasting almost two hours, was notable for its “deep intensity and concentration” (Bachtrack). Recorded live by Deutsche Grammophon, The Salzburg Recital is now set for release as a double-disc CD and an e-album on 5 August 2022.

The Salzburg Recital ranges from the 19th-century soundworld of Chopin to the work of three early 20th-century composers who emerged from very distinctive traditions: those of Austria, the US and the USSR. 

The album opens with Berg’s Piano Sonata No. 1, a work that extends the boundaries of conventional tonality to reveal a late-Romantic soundworld of contrasting introspection and emotional turbulence. Kissin has also chosen music by Berg’s close contemporary George Gershwin. The two men met in Vienna in 1928 and admired each other’s music. Gershwin was himself an outstanding pianist and his Three Preludes of 1926, combining classical, jazz, blues and ragtime influences, soon became a cornerstone of the American repertoire. 

Go to artist details