Choose artist...
Freiburger Barockorchester

Mozarts Mannheim

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: May 19, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Vogler: Der Kaufmann von Smyrna: Overture  
2 Cannabich, J C: Symphony No. 55 in C major / I. Allegro maestoso  
3 II. Andante non tanto  
4 III. Presto ma non troppo  
5 Danner, C: Violin Concerto in F major / I. Allegro moderato  
6 II. Adagio  
7 III. Rondeau  
8 Toeschi: Sextet in B flat major: Andante grazioso-Allegro  
9 Holzbauer: Günther von Schwarzburg: Overture  
10 Mozart: Alcandro, lo confesso - Non so d'onde viene, K294  
11 Mozart: Non so d'onde viene  
12 Mozart: Symphony No. 52 in C, K208 / 102 / I. Molto allegro  
13 II. Andantino (After Aria "Intendo, amico" from Il re pastore, K. 208)  
14 III. Presto assai  
Show all tracks

Mozart’s Mannheim has been carefully curated to give 21st-century listeners an idea of the sound world experienced by Mozart when he visited Mannheim in the late 1770s. The southern German city’s legendary court orchestra made it a go-to destination for 18th-century cultural pilgrims and the Freiburger Barockorchester (FBO) has chosen to paint a musical portrait of Mannheim for its debut Deutsche Grammophon album. Mozart’s Mannheim presents a variety of orchestral and chamber pieces by Cannabich, Danner, Holzbauer, Toeschi and Vogler – including four world premiere recordings – as well as two key works composed by Mozart while he was in the city. The album will be released on 19 May 2023 and the FBO will perform most of its repertoire on 20 May at Schwetzingen Palace, as part of this year’s Schwetzingen Festival.

“The Mannheim court of Elector Carl Theodor was famous for its vast orchestra in which the very best instrumentalists of their day played together,” explains Martin Bail, Dramaturge of the FBO. “That’s why we decided to begin our partnership with DG with music created in Mannheim around the time of Mozart’s visit in 1777-78.”

Go to artist details