Choose artist...
Garrett Keast - Berlin Academy of American Music


Onyx Classics
Release Date: October 29, 2021

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Transatlantic (Album) - Berlin Academy of American Music
Toru Takemitsu: Toward the Sea II
Copland: Appalachian Spring
Stravinsky: Dumbarton Oaks
Introducing BAAM - The Berlin Academy of American Music
1 Stravinsky: Dumbarton Oaks / Tempo giusto 4:54  
2 Allegretto 4:25  
3 Con moto 5:48  
4 Urquhart: Lamentation for Flute & String Orchestra 7:48  
5 Dorman Nofim: Four Songs for Chamber Ensemble / Eich Mitkavetz Halev 2:59  
6 Rikud Hashedim 3:38  
7 Chikiti Lashemesh 3:31  
8 Levaya 3:55  
9 Takemitsu: Toward the Sea II / The Night 3:58  
10 Moby Dick 4:25  
11 Cape Cod 3:56  
12 Stravinsky: No Word from Tom from The Rake's Progress 8:09  
13 Copland: Appalachian Spring Suite, Original version for 13 instruments / Very Slowly 3:01  
14 Allegro 2:48  
15 Moderato 3:21  
16 Fast 3:24  
17 Allegro subito 3:00  
18 Meno mosso 2:19  
19 Doppio movimento 3:05  
20 Moderato 3:46  
Show all tracks

The debut album; Transatlantic from Garrett Keast and the Berlin Academy of American Music was recorded at the beginning of 2021 against all odds, in the winter and at the height of the COVID-19 pandemic, but the first signs of life for this new orchestra began coming together with Garrett's friend Rosie Salvucci (American bassist and fellow Berliner) six months prior. In the summer of 2020 - simply for the sake of doing so – the pair decided to organize some impromptu, distanced orchestra readings with chamber orchestra repertoire that could easily be played in a studio in Berlin's Kreuzberg district. The musicians needed something to do, many summer festivals and vacations were cancelled, and they were excited to play together again. Professional musicians who they thought would enjoy works by composers like Adams, Stravinsky and Copland were invited. Everyone enjoyed the collaborations, and experiencing this repertoire, in these times with these musicians was special.

Transatlantic, released by London's ONYX Classics on October 29, 2021 is the debut of the Berlin Academy of American Music to the world.  The album features an array of orchestra musicians based in Berlin, soprano Chen Reiss, flutist Stathis Karapanos, Berlin Philharmonic's concertmaster and principal harpist, Noah Bendix-Balgley and Marie-Pierre Langlamet. BAAM's first Berlin concert series follows in November of 2021 and a first tour of Europe is soon to be announced for June of 2022.  

Go to artist details