Home » Projects » Restless Wind » Album

Track Listing:

Autumn Wind
Judge, Judge
A Change Is Gonna Come
Cancion Mixteca
The Good Earth
For What It's Worth
Muskrat Ramble Medley
The Times Of Harvey Milk
The Unknown Soldier
The Wayward Wind

George Winston :

Restless Wind

George Winston To Release New Studio Album Restless Wind on May 3, 2019 Via Dancing Cat Records/RCA Records

New Song "Autumn Wind (Pixie #11)" Out Now Announces U.S. Tour to Celebrate 15th Solo Piano Album 


"A true original with an inimitable style…" -Classical MPR (Minnesota Public Radio)

"a prolific pianist" -Chicago Tribune

"…a master of both tone and invention."  -Austin American Statesman


Celebrated pianist George Winston will release his 15th solo piano album, Restless Wind, via Dancing Cat Records/RCA Records on May 3, 2019. By virtue of his brilliance as one of the foremost instrumental composers of our time, Restless Wind presents a stunning journey documenting George Winston's sociological observations in American history. Winston repurposes for the modern listener stunningly relevant works by musical greats such as Sam Cooke, The Doors, Stephen Stills, George & Ira Gershwin, Country Joe McDonald, and others. Restless Wind captures Winston's inimitable melodic language where piano textures and tones set the stage for vivid renderings of classic compositions. 

Winston says, "Ultimately, the main reason these 11 songs were chosen was how as instrumental pieces they worked well with each other in this sequence, the same way I have worked for all the albums I've recorded."

George Winston is undeniably a household name. He's inspired fans and musicians alike with his singular solo acoustic piano songs for more than 40 years while selling 15 million albums. A tireless road warrior playing nearly 100 concerts annually, live performance for Winston is akin to breathing. Winston's music is evocative, offering us all a chance to take a step back from our perpetually busy lives and let our minds adventurously wander. Restless Wind is a portrayal of Winston's place in a chaotic world – his compositions extend solace with an idiosyncratic grace. 

Reflective of Winston's catalogue of famed albums, Restless Wind is the next chapter for the pianist's ambitious recordings. Winston's latest song collection exhibits his masterful artistry of adapting ensemble arrangements to solo piano with magnificent results. Winston features 10 renditions of culturally potent compositions while opening the album with a new original song available starting today (March 22) for download and streaming, "Autumn Wind (Pixie #11)." 

George Winston's classic albums, Autumn and December, are perennial favorites, along with Winter into Spring, Summer, 2017's Spring Carousel – A Cancer Research Benefit, as well as two volumes of the compositions of Vince Guaraldi, two volumes of benefit albums for the Gulf Coast disasters, and six other solo piano albums. 

Commencing on March 22, George Winston embarks on a U.S. tour to celebrate the release of Restless Wind throughout the East Coast, West Coast, and Midwest. Tickets go on-sale to the general public today (March 22nd) at 11am EST.


1.Autumn Wind (Pixie #11) 

Written by GW

Inspired by the New Orleans pianist James Booker (1939-1983), and composer Steve Reich.

2.Judge, Judge 


Inspired by the version by solo guitarist George Cromarty (1947-1992). Also called Send Me to the 'Lectric Chair and recorded by Bessie Smith in 1927.


3.A Change Is Gonna Come

Composed in 1963 by the most inspirational, influential, and beloved singer Sam Cooke (1931-1964)



by George Gershwin, 1935


5.Cancion Mixteca (Immigrant's Lament)

by Jose Lopez Alvavez, 1915


6.The Good Earth

By pianist/ composer/ arranger Jimmy Wisner. He recorded this piece in 1962 under the name Kokomo, and it was the follow up single to his 1961 hit instrumental Asia Minor, also as Kokomo, which took me to many adventures in my imagination, more than any piece of music I had ever heard before


7.For What It's Worth

by Stephen Stills, 1967


8.Muskrat Ramble/ I Feel Like I'm Fixin' To Die Rag/ Stop The Bleeding(The War Is Over)  

1st song by Kid Ory & Louis Armstrong, 1921/ 2nd song by Country Joe McDonald, 1965/ 3rd song by George Winston 


9.The Times Of Harvey Milk

The main theme from the 1984 documentary.


10.The Unknown Soldier (War Is Over)

From the Doors third album from 1968, WAITING FOR THE SUN.


11.The Wayward Wind (The Restless Wind)/ Que Sera Sera

by Stanley Lebowsky & Herb Newman, 1956/ 2nd song by Jay Livingston & Ray Evans, 1956