Choose artist...
Gianluigi Trovesi - Stefano Montanari

Stravaganze consonanti

Release Date: February 24, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Dido and Aeneas - The Witches Dance  
2 Dissolvenze convergenti  
3 Consonanze stravaganti  
4 For A While  
5 Missa 'L'homme arme' - Kyrie I  
6 L'ometto disarmato  
7 Dido and Aeneas - Dido's Lament 'When I Am laid in Earth'  
8 The Gordian Knot Unty'd - Ouverture  
9 Sonata decima sopra 'Cavalletto zoppo'  
10 Suave Melodia  
11 Karaib's Berger  
12 Dido and Aeneas - The Triumphing Dance  
13 De vous abandoner  
14 Mille Regretz  
15 Bergheim  
Show all tracks

More than 20 years ago Umberto Eco singled out “the quest for ancient timbres and classical echoes” that contributed, alongside “original inventions” to the special character of Gianluigi Trovesi’s art. The clarinets and saxophone of the reedman from Italy’s Lombardy region have spoken a sort of polyglot tongue almost from the outset, and each of his ECM albums has differently combined, contrasted and blended ingredients of diverse idioms.

On Stravaganze consonanti, an inspired collaboration with noted baroque violinist and conductor and Stefano Montanari, Trovesi extends the line of musical enquiry posited on his operatic Prufumo di violetta album. Supported this time by a cast of players well-versed in the ancient sounds of period instruments and the art of historical performance practice, he looks anew at music of the renaissance and the baroque – at Purcell, Dufay, Trabaci, Desprez and more. He also adds compositions of his own and stirs some additional improvising with percussion and electronics man Fulvio Maras into the intoxicating brew. As Montanari writes in the CD booklet, “Trovesi grasps the power and refinement of a language that passes in the blink of an eye from Dufay to Purcell, arriving at jazz without ever losing the profound meaning of a musical fabric whose primary motive is universal communication.”

Go to artist details