Choose artist...
Helene Grimaud

For Clara feat. Konstantin Krimmel

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: September 8, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Interview with David Serero - iHeart Radio - The Culture News
Qobuz Interview
1 Schumann: Kreisleriana Op. 16 : No. 1 Äusserst Bewegt  
2 No. 2 Sehr Innig Und Nicht Zu Rasch  
3 No. 3 Sehr Aufgeregt  
4 No. 4 Sehr Langsam  
5 No. 5 Sehr Lebhaft  
6 No. 6 Sehr Langsam  
7 No. 7 Sehr Rasch  
8 No. 8 Schnell Und Spielend  
9 Brahms: 3 Intermezzi Op. 117 : No. 1 Andante Moderato  
10 No. 2 Andante Non Troppo E Con Molto Espressione  
11 No. 3 Andante Con Moto  
12 Schumann: 9 Lieder Und Gesänge Op. 32 : No. 1 Wie Rafft Ich Mich Auf in Der Nacht  
13 No. 2 Nicht Mehr Zu Dir Zu Gehen  
14 No. 3 Ich Schleich Umher  
15 No. 4 Derstrom Der Neben Mir Verrauschte  
16 No. 5 Wehe So Willst Du Mich Wieder  
17 No. 6 Du Sprichst Dass Ich Mich Täuschte  
18 No. 7 Bitteres Zu Sagen Denkst Du  
19 No. 8 So Stehn Wir Ich Und Meine Weide  
20 No. 9 Wie Bist Du, Vmeine Königin  
Show all tracks

Hélène Grimaud explores the rich universe of German Romanticism For Clara couples Robert Schumann’s Kreisleriana Op. 16 with Brahms’s Intermezzi Op. 117 and Lieder und Gesänge Op. 32, featuring baritone Konstantin Krimmel

“You can spend a lifetime with a piece like this and always find something new” - Hélène Grimaud on Kreisleriana 

“I’ve always had a special relationship with the German Romantics,” says  Hélène Grimaud (in a recent interview for Deutsche Welle). “These are worlds in which I feel I can express what the composer intended.” That affinity is very much in evidence on her latest album, For Clara, which focuses not only on the pianist’s own relationship with the music of both Robert Schumann and his protégé Brahms, but also on that which bound both men to pianist-composer Clara Schumann (née Wieck). Grimaud revisits Schumann’s Kreisleriana, a work she has known most of her life and recorded once before, pairing it with Brahms’s three Op. 117 Intermezzi and his Op. 32 set of nine songs. Joining her for the latter is baritone Konstantin Krimmel, her musical partner on the Valentin Silvestrov album Silent Songs, released earlier this year (“Konstantin Krimmel and Hélène Grimaud deserve the highest praise for their poised and unaffected account of this beautiful, dreamlike music”, BBC Music Magazine). 
For Clara will be released by Deutsche Grammophon on CD, vinyl and digitally on 8 September. Filmed in the library of Polling Abbey near Munich, in June 2022, Hélène Grimaud’s performance of Kreisleriana will be available on demand on STAGE+ from 10 July 2023, while her Berlin recital with Konstantin Krimmel, featuring Brahms’s Op. 32, can be streamed from the platform now. Grimaud’s recordings of two further Brahms intermezzi – Op. 116 No. 2 in A minor and Op. 118 No. 2 in A major – will be issued as e-singles on 13 October and 24 November respectively. 

Go to artist details