Choose artist...
Hideko Udagawa

Nostalgic Russia

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Rachmaninov Elegie Op.3, No.1 (transc. Mikhailovsky) (world premiere)  
2 Tchaikovsky Romance Op.5 (transc. Mikhailovsky) (world premiere)  
3 Tchaikovsky Valse Sentimentale Op.51, No.6  
4 Kabalevsky Improvisation Op.21, No.1  
5 Kabalevsky Rondo Op.69  
6 Napravnik Four Pieces Op.64  
7 Rimsky-Korsakov 'Hymn to the Sun' from Le coq d'or (transc. Kreisler)  
8 Stravinsky Chanson Russe  
9 Arensky Serenade Op.30, No.2  
10 Arensky Tempo di Valse (transc. Heifetz)  
11 Scriabin Nocturne Op.5, No.1 (transc. Mogilevsky)  
12 Shostakovich Three Fantastic Dances Op.5 (transc. Tsyganov)  
13 Shostakovich Five Preludes Op. 34, Nos. 2, 5, 11, 17 & 18 (transc. Tsyganov)  
Show all tracks

Hideko Udagawa's latest album for Russian label Northern Flowers celebrates rich legacy of Russian music with world premieres and rare works for violin and piano. Recording includes first recordings of new transcriptions of Rachmaninov's Elégie and Tchaikovsky's Romance

‘A former pupil of Nathan Milstein, Hideko Udagawa shares with her legendary teacher a propensity for revealing the violin's natural soundworld by subtle coaxing rather than applied pressure,' BBC Music Magazine, June 2016

Russia's great tradition of violin playing inspired countless composers to create soulful melodies and dazzling showpieces. Hideko Udagawa's latest album, set for release by Russian label Northern Flowers on 9 April 2021, began with a quest to find fine repertoire rarities and works written to display the violin's abilities. Nostalgic Russia also includes world premiere recordings of Viktor Mikhailovsky's transcriptions for violin and piano of Rachmaninov's Elégie Op.3 No.1 and Tchaikovsky's Romance Op.5, and contains only the second ever recording of Four Pieces Op.64 by Czech composer Eduard Francevič Nápravník, principal conductor at the Imperial Mariinsky Theatre in St Petersburg and an important early interpreter of Tchaikovsky's music.

Go to artist details