Choose artist...
Jan Lisiecki

Night Music

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: February 18, 2022

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Ravel: Gaspard de la nuit, M. 55: III. Scarbo (Live from Würzburg, 2018)
Jan Lisiecki - Moving Classics Interview
1 Mozart: 12 Variations in C Major on  
2 Var. 1 00:45  
3 Var. 2 00:45  
4 Var. 3 00:50  
5 Var. 4 00:44  
6 Var. 5 00:52  
7 Var. 6 00:40  
8 Var. 7 00:48  
9 Var. 8 00:55  
10 Var. 9 00:50  
11 Var. 10 00:41  
12 Var. 11 02:37  
13 Var. 12 01:14  
14 Robert Schumann: Nachtstücke, Op. 23 / I. Mehr langsam, oft zurückhaltend 04:24  
15 II. Markiert und lebhaft 06:16  
16 III. Mit grosser Lebhaftigkeit 04:22  
17 IV. Ad libitum – Einfach 03:50  
18 Ravel: Gaspard de la nuit, M. 55 / I. Ondine 05:58  
19 II. Le Gibet 09:01  
20 III. Scarbo 08:57  
21 Ignacy Jan Paderewski: Miscellanea, Op. 16 / IV. Nocturne in B Flat Major 04:28  
Show all tracks

Jan Lisiecki? presents a brand new eAlbum and Visual Album inspired by Night Music

“A player of exceptional poise and refinement.” - BBC Music Magazine

Following a critically-acclaimed recording of Chopin's Complete Nocturnes, which cemented his status as one of classical music’s favourite pianists, Jan Lisiecki presents a brand new digital and visual album inspired by Night Music, released today 18 February. With this project, the Canadian-born pianist and former Gramophone Young Artist of the Year, continues to explore the universe of night music with works by Mozart, Ravel, Schumann and Paderewski.

"I love putting together programmes. I love taking the audience on that journey with me." says Lisiecki. "It’s so much more meaningful than just playing works that I love. I still love these pieces, but I love how they go together as well. And that’s how 'Night Music' was born." The album, which features a selection of tracks from Lisiecki’s Würzburg recital in 2018, is also available in the immersive sound format Dolby Atmos and complemented by a visual album.

"To me a recital programme, just as much as my recordings, has to have a concept and has to have some force that is holding it together" adds Lisiecki, who is currently touring his Poems of the night programme in Germany and continues to enjoy a busy concert diary with upcoming dates in Poland, France, Canada and the United States. "After all, how can you put together Schumann and Ravel and Mozart? It’s impossible – in aspects of trying to find a link. So you have to create a musical link. And in this case it was music of the night, and showing the multifaceted world that it exists in."

Go to artist details