Choose artist...
Janine Jansen

12 Stradivari

Decca Classics

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio



Tour Dates

1 Manuel de Falla: arr. Kreisler: Danse Espagnole from 'La Vida Breve'  
2 Kreisler: Liebesleid  
3 Kreisler: Syncopation  
4 Heuberger arr Kreisler: Midnight Bells (after Der Opernball)  
5 Suk arr Jaroslav Kocian: Peseň l'ska (Liebeslied/Song of Love)  
6 Clara Schumann: Romance nr 1 from 3 Romances for Violin and Piano, Op.22  
7 Robert Schumann: Fantasiestucke for clarinet (viola/cello) and Piano, Op.73  
8 Vieuxtemps: Romance nr. 2 D'sespoir from 3 Romances sans paroles, Op.7  
9 Tchaikovsky arr. Auer: Tchaikovsky arr Auer: Arie des Lensky (from Eugene Onegin)  
10 Szymanovski: La fontaine d'Arthuse from Mythes (No 1) for violin and piano, Op.30  
11 Ravel trasc. Georges Catherine: Piece en forme de Habanera  
12 Elgar: Sospiri, Op.12  
13 Rachmaninov: Movt III (Andante) from Sonata for piano and cello Op.19  
14 Tchaikovsky arr Auer: Melodie for Violin and Piano, Op.42, No.3  
15 Kern/Harbach: Yesterdays from 'Roberta'  
Show all tracks

For the first time in history, 12 of the most wonderful violins ever made by the finest violin maker of all time, Antonio Stradivari (1644-1737), have travelled across the world for a ground-breaking new project with violin superstar Janine Jansen. The resulting album, 12 Stradivari, captures the individual characters of each instrument in specially-curated music accompanied by Sir Antonio Pappano at the piano. 

These days Stradivari's instruments can reach prices well over $20 million and some of the foundations and museums who own them let them out only on rare occasions. This is also why this recording is particularly special: some of these 12 Stradivari have not been played for many decades and, possibly, have never ben commercially recorded before. Others belonged to legendary virtuosi including Fritz Kreisler, Nathan Milstein, Ida Haendel and Oscar Shumsky. Janine herself is widely considered to be one of the greatest violinists of our time, and this album is her first release with Decca in 6 years.

Go to artist details