Home » Artists » Bach Concertos

Janine Jansen: Bio

Violinist Janine Jansen works regularly with the world's most eminent orchestras, including the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Berliner Philharmoniker and the New York Philharmonic, amongst others. Her conductor collaborations include such distinguished names as Valery Gergiev, Zubin Mehta, Lorin Maazel, Gustavo Dudamel, Mariss Jansons, Sir Antonio Pappano and Bernard Haitink.

The 2013/14 season sees Janine embark on a number of international tours, beginning with a performance of Britten's Violin Concerto at the BBC Proms with Orchestre de Paris and Paavo Järvi. She is also the soloist on tour with the Philharmonia Orchestra and Esa-Pekka Salonen in Europe, and with the Boston Symphony Orchestra and Lorin Maazel in Japan. In celebration of the release of her new J.S. Bach album, Janine and Friends embark on two extensive European tours this season, with concerts in Berlin, Munich, Vienna, London, Amsterdam and Paris.

Following acclaimed performances in past seasons, Janine makes returns to the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra, Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, New York Philharmonic, the Philadelphia and Cleveland orchestras, as well as the Royal Stockholm, Oslo and Rotterdam Philharmonic orchestras. She will also perform with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and Bernard Haitink.

A devoted chamber musician, Janine performs on two duo recital tours with pianist Itamar Golan in Spain and Italy, and is joined by cellist Torleif Thedéen for a number of trio recitals during the 2013/14 season. Janine established and curates the annual International Chamber Music Festival, Utrecht, Holland, and since 1998 has performed each season at Spectrum Concerts Berlin – a chamber music series at the Berlin Philharmonie.

Particularly renowned for her success in the digital music charts, Janine records exclusively for Decca (Universal Music). Future releases include an album of concerti and sonatas by J.S. Bach. Past recordings include Prokofiev's Violin Concerto No.2 with the London Philharmonic Orchestra and Vladimir Jurowski, the Beethoven and Britten Concertos with Paavo Järvi, Mendelssohn and Bruch with Riccardo Chailly, and Tchaikovsky with Daniel Harding. Janine has also recently released a chamber project disc, including Schubert's String Quintet and Schoenberg's Verklärte Nacht, in celebration of the 10 year Jubileum of her Internationaal Kamermuziek Festival Utrecht.

Janine has won numerous awards, including four Edison Klassiek Awards, three Echo Klassik awards, the Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik, the NDR Musikpreis for outstanding artistic achievement and most recently the Concertgebouw Prize. She has been given the VSCD Klassieke Muziekprijs for individual achievement and the RPS Instrumentalist Award for performances in the UK. Janine studied with Coosje Wijzenbeek, Philipp Hirshhorn and Boris Belkin.

The outstanding instrument played by Janine Jansen is the ‘Barrere' by Antonio Stradivari (1727) on extended loan from the Elise Mathilde Foundation.

1 Bach: Violin Concertos BWV 1041/I. Allegro  
2 Bach: Violin Concertos BWV 1041/II. Adagio  
3 Bach: Violin Concertos BWV 1041/III. Allegro Assai  
4 Bach: Violin Concertos BWV 1042/I  
5 Bach: Violin Concertos BWV 1042/II. Andante  
6 Bach: Violin Concertos BWV 1042/III. Allegro assai  
7 Bach: Violin & Oboe Concerto in C minor BWV 1060/I. Allegro  
8 Bach: Violin & Oboe Concerto in C minor BWV 1060/II. Adagio  
9 Bach: Violin & Oboe Concerto in C minor BWV 1060/III. Allegro  
10 Bach: Sonatas for harpsichord & violin BWV 1016/I. Adagio  
11 Bach: Sonatas for harpsichord & violin BWV 1016/II. Allegro  
12 Bach: Sonatas for harpsichord & violin BWV 1016/III. Adagio ma non tanto  
13 Bach: Sonatas for harpsichord & violin BWV 1016/IV. Allegro  
14 Bach: Sonatas for harpsichord & violin BWV 1017/I. Siciliano (Largo)  
15 Bach: Sonatas for harpsichord & violin BWV 1017/II. Allegro  
16 Bach: Sonatas for harpsichord & violin BWV 1017/III. Adagio  
17 Bach: Sonatas for harpsichord & violin BWV 1017/IV. Allegro  
Janine Jansen: J.S. Bach - Violin Concerto in A Minor - I. Allegro Moderato
Janine Jansen on Bach's Violin Concerto in E major, BWV 1042

Janine Jansen revisits her great love of Bach with her second Decca album dedicated to the music of the great composer out on Decca on October 29, 2013. A devotee and advocate of chamber music – her festival in Utrecht, Holland has been running for over a decade – Janine is joined on this album by a hand-picked group of frequent musical collaborators, for an album of violin concertos and sonatas.  This is energizing Bach, recorded in vivid sound and released in the increasingly popular "Mastered for iTunes" format as well as full-resolution HD audio and CD. This is Bach for the Digital Age from iTunes #1 best-selling violinist.

4 New 'ON'  49 TOTAL
PRI/Classical 24, CBC, The Romantic Hours
Direct: SiriusXM, Music Choice, MOOD
Markets include: New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, San Francisco, Boston, Philadelphia, Wash DC, Dallas, Atlanta, Seattle, Cleveland, Minneapolis, Denver, Portland, Baltimore, St. Louis, Cincinnati, Austin, Pittsburgh, New Orleans, Austin, Detroit, Berkeley CA, Memphis, Albuquerque, Louisville, Hartford CT, Honolulu, Canada
Online: RadioIO, MusiClassical, Taintradio, WGOE

Crossover Media Projects with: Janine Jansen