Choose artist...
Joshua Bell

Butterfly Lovers

Sony Classical
Release Date: June 30, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


VII. Adagio cantabile (Official Video)
Joshua Bell - Interview
1 Butterfly Lovers Violin Concerto: I. Adagio Cantabile (Chen Gang / Zhanhao He)  
2 II. Allegro (Chen Gang / Zhanhao He)  
3 III. Adagio Assai Doloroso (Chen Gang / Zhanhao He)  
4 IV. Pesante - Piu mosso - Duramente (Chen Gang / Zhanhao He)  
5 V. Lagrimoso (Chen Gang / Zhanhao He)  
6 VI. Presto resoluto (Chen Gang / Zhanhao He)  
7 VII. Adagio cantabile (Chen Gang / Zhanhao He)  
8 Introduction et rondo capriccioso in A minor, Op. 28 (Camille Saint-Saëns)  
9 'Méditation' from Thaïs (Jules Massenet)  
10 Zigeunerweisen, Op. 20 (Pablo de Sarasate)  
Show all tracks

GRAMMY® Award-winning violinist Joshua Bell’s forthcoming recording Butterfly Lovers features one of the most renowned works in the Chinese classical violin repertoire, the Butterfly Lovers Violin Concerto. Recorded with the Singapore Chinese Orchestra (SCO) and conducted by Tsung Yeh, the work is a distinctive adaptation for an ensemble of traditional Chinese instruments. Available now for preorder, the new Sony Classical album will be released digitally and on CD on June 30, 2023.  The second track release - Massenet’s Méditation” from Thaïs - is out today – listen here.

The recording also features Bell as soloist in three popular Western Romantic works for violin and orchestra, all specifically arranged to be performed with the SCO’s virtuosic ensemble of Chinese instruments.

"I'm thrilled to have worked with the incredible Singapore Chinese Orchestra and Maestro Tsung Yeh on this recording, which includes the Butterfly Lovers Violin Concerto as its centerpiece,” Joshua Bell says. “It was a joy to collaborate with the SCO musicians, who brought this work to life through the expressive sounds of the traditional Chinese instruments.”

Inspired by a hauntingly romantic Chinese legend, the concerto was written in 1959 by Chen Gang and He Zhanhao. The original version, richly scored for a full Western symphonic orchestra, has achieved global popularity. For this recording, Bell performed an adaptation of the work by Yang Hui Chang and Ku Lap-Man for an orchestra of traditional instruments. “The music beautifully describes the classic Butterfly Lovers story, featuring themes of romance, star-crossed lovers, and friendship,” Bell adds.

Go to artist details