Home » Artists » motets - Polyphony

Karl Jenkins: Bio

Karl Jenkins was born in the small Welsh coastal village of Penclawdd on the Gower Peninsula West of Swansea. Karl is the only child of his father David and his mother Lily, who was of Swedish extraction. His father, a school teacher, was also an organist and choirmaster of the local Tabernacle Chapel and it was he who began teaching his son the piano when Karl was six years old. During these formative years, apart from being introduced to the classical world by his father via recordings and the occasional concert, he was also, as part of chapel life, exposed to the unique sound of Welsh hymn singing,
echoes of which are to be heard
in future compositions.

On entering Gowerton Grammar School at eleven, Karl began to play the oboe and within the next few years progressed through the Glamorgan Youth Orchestra and the National Youth Orchestra of Wales, Cardiff, where he read music, taking a Bachelor of Music degree. During his school and university years he became increasingly interested in jazz (playing saxophone) which was to have a significant bearing on his compositional style in later years. After graduating, he continued post graduate studies at the Royal Academy
of Music, London.

Following his studies he won awards as a jazz oboist and multi-instrumentalist, working with, amongst others Ronnie Scott. He co-founded Nucleus in 1972, winning first prize
at the Montreux Jazz Festival, before
joining Soft Machine.

1 I'll Make Music  
2 Cantate Domino  
3 Laudamus te  
4 Benedictus  
5 The Shepherd  
6 Ave Maria  
7 Ave verum corpus  
8 Agnus Dei  
9 Healing Light  
10 Locus iste  
11 Pie Jesu  
12 Exsultate, jubilate  
13 God Shall Wipe Away All Tears  
14 And The Mother Did Weep  
15 Lullay  
16 Peace, Peace!  
17 In paradisum  
18 Dona nobis pacem  
19 Nunc dimittis  
Karl Jenkins on Karl Jenkins