Choose artist...
Lara Downes

A Billie Holiday Songbook

Steinway Records

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Lara Downes: from A Billie Holiday Songbook - I'll Be Seeing You
Music To Be Thankful For: Lara Downes


America this Week: Westwood One review
Interview with KQAC's John Pitman
1 Yesterdays
2 God Bless the Child
3 Blue Moon
4 Willow Weep for Me
5 Don't Explain
6 Body and Soul
7 I Don't Stand a Ghost of a Chance with You
8 I Wished on the Moon
9 Them There Eyes
10 Billie's Blues
11 Good Morning Heartache
12 The End of a Love Affair
13 What a Little Moonlight Can Do
14 Ain't Nobody's Business
15 Strange Fruit
16 I'll Be Seeing You
17 Lover Man
18 I'm a Fool to Want You
19 I'll Be Around
20 I Cover the Waterfront
21 (In My) Solitude
22 But Beautiful
Show all tracks

In celebration of the 100th anniversary of Billie Holiday's birth, Lara Downes releases: A Billie Holiday Songbook on Steinway & Sons Records, A personal tribute to this sensitive, timeless icon of American music.Radiant. Intimate.

Lara Downes grew up listening to Holiday's recordings with her father, born and raised in Harlem. Trained in the conservatories of San Francisco, Paris, Vienna and New York, Downes acknowledges that Holiday's singing has been a lifelong influence. "As a musician, I learned from Billie Holiday to make something completely personal when you make music," she says. "something that is completely your own - maybe something unexpected, something indefinable, perhaps complicated, but beautiful. To take a chance. As the song says: "But beautiful to take a chance, and if you fall, you fall. And I'm thinking I wouldn't mind at all."

Go to artist details