Home » Stories » Crossover Media releases; 'The New Pope' podcast with Lele Marchitelli

Top 10 for Mar

Crossover Media releases; 'The New Pope' podcast with Lele Marchitelli

Bookmark and Share

Milan Records recent release of THE NEW POPE (ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK FROM THE SKY – HBO – CANAL+ SERIES produced by FREMANTLE'S THE APARTMENT and WILDSIDE, co-produced with HAUT ET COURT TV and THE MEDIAPRO STUDIO), features music by LELE MARCHITELLI.  The album score music written by Marchitelli for Paolo Sorrentino's nine-episode original series starring Jude Law and John Malkovich, is complimented by a collection of provokotive songs including the show's theme song from Sofi Tukker and Charlie Barker, a special new edit of Afterhours' "Voglio Una Pelle Splendida" recorded specifically for the show, Recondite & Henrik Schwarz' techno classic "Motion" and more – full tracklist below.  Created by Academy Award-winning director Paolo Sorrentino (Youth, The Great Beauty) and his follow-up to 2016's The Young Pope, The New Pope premiered on HBO in January 2020.

Listen to the podcast featuring score composer - Lele Marchitelli

Of the soundtrack, composer LELE MARCHITELLI says, "In soundtracks for cinema and TV, I think it's not so much the music you use but how you use it. We could use the term ‘counterintuitive' to describe certain musical choices that take an unexpected direction compared to what the audience expects. Paolo Sorrentino belongs to a set of directors who share this approach; his musical choices, regarding both pre-existing music and original scores, are extremely well thought out and incongruous with respect to the editing of the scenes. If the music says one thing and the dialogues, the acting or the scene in general don't, it means it has achieved its goal: completing the director's thinking." 

Written by the Academy Award-winning director, The New Pope, is Paolo Sorrentino's second installment in the original series, set in the world of the modern papacy. The nine-episode series features Jude Law, John Malkovich, Silvio Orlando, Cécile de France, Javier Cámara, Ludivine Sagnier. Sharon Stone and Marilyn Manson guest star.