Choose artist...
Mark Abel

The Cave Of Wondrous Voice


Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Intuition's Dance  
2 Tsvetaeva -- The Sibyl  
3 Tsvetaeva -- Two Trees  
4 Tsvetaeva -- O Sorrow  
5 Tsvetaeva -- God Bent Under  
6 The Elastic Hours -- What Friday Brought  
7 The Elastic Hours -- Saturday's Circumference  
8 Clarinet Trio -- The Unfolding  
9 Clarinet Trio -- Taking Flight  
10 Clarinet Trio -- In Good Time  
Show all tracks

Chamber Music and Songs of Mark Abel

David Shifrin, clarinet • Carol Rosenberger, piano • Hila Plitmann, soprano  Fred Sherry, cello • Sabrina-Vivian Höpcker, violin Dominic Cheli, piano • Sarah Beck, English horn

This album sings and dances, with Mark Abel's "colorful blend of styles that serve the emotional nature of each work to bracing and poignant effect" (Gramophone) and further clarifies why Abel is "one of the most interesting figures in American contemporary music" (Pizzicato).

Abel's idiom eludes easy pigeon-holing-its contours extend from art song to larger forms with orchestra to a full length chamber opera, Home Is a Harbor.

The program begins with Intuition's Dance, a combination of frolic and dreamy ruminations featuring the incomparable clarinetist David Shifrin and pianist Carol Rosenberger. (Together again for the first time since their memorable albums for Delos, recorded in 1984!) Next comes the remarkable Hila Plitmann singing the powerfully moving Four Poems of Marina Tsvetaeva-the first-ever setting of Tsvetaeva's poetry in English translation. Plitmann is joined by Rosenberger and English hornist Sarah Beck.

Go to artist details