Home » Artists » Five For Five

Michael Fine: Bio

Michael is widely acknowledged as one of the top producers of classical music recordings in the world and holds a Grammy Award for Classical Producer of the Year. He has numerous best sellers to his credit including Gold and Platinum recordings in several countries. Additionally, he has been artistic manager of orchestras including the Rotterdam Philharmonic, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Seoul Philharmonic and Gergiev Festival Rotterdam.  As a clarinetist, Michael is a regular performer at Festival Mozaic and the Tongyeong International Festival and has performed chamber music on three continents. Michael began composing after age sixty calling it ‘the natural evolution of everything I have done in music.' A recording of his orchestral music with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra was recently released by the French label Evidence. In 2017, Michael was named Composer-in-Residence at the first edition of Habana Clásica, Cuba's first international classical music festival, a role he repeated in 2018. 

1 Quintet for Bassoon and Strings / Allegro scherzando  
2 Largo  
3 Allegro  
4 Elegy for ...  
5 Quintet for Clarinet and String Quartet / Andante lyrico  
6 Adagio  
7 Allegro  
8 Quintet for Oboe and String Quartet / Adagio. Andante cantabile  
9 Larghetto  
10 Moderato  
11 Quintet for Flute and String Quartet / Moderato  
12 Andante piacevole  
13 Adagio  
14 Allegro  
Flute Quintet 3rd movement: Adagio with Alice K Dade
Bassoon Quintet 1st movement
'Elegy for ...' Robert Walter, English Horn
Quintet for Oboe and String Quartet: II. Larghetto
Clarinet Quintet with Anton Rist
Oboe Quintet with Xiaodi Liu, Mozaic Quartet from 'Five for Five'
'Concierto del Luna' for Flute, Guitar and Ensemble
Chamber Symphony
Arkansas Symphony Orchestra - in conversation
The Producer's Role

Paris based Evidence Classics release their second recording of Michael Fine's music: Five for Five – Five Quintets for five woodwind soloists and string quartet. The recording was made following performances at Festival Mozaic in San Luis Obispo with musicians from leading musical organisations including the Metropolitan Opera, Cleveland Orchestra, Minnesota Orchestra, and Atlanta Symphony among others. These are all world premiere recordings. Michael Fine produced the recording. Jin Choi was engineer for the sessions at Cuesta College's Harold J. Miossi Center for the Performing Arts.  Evidence Classics are distributed world-wide by Harmonia Mundi/PIAS and can be heard on all the major streaming services including Apple Music, Spotify, and Idagio.

"It is a lot of fun to make music with close friends. It is a privilege to bring to life the music of a great composer, who also happens to be a friend. This recording is both.  Performing these pieces was so interesting. They look extremely simple upon face value, but even after a few measures we all realized that each phrase was very complex and detailed. We all got the best results when we relaxed and purged our minds of any restless thoughts – Michael's music, very much like Copland's, demands a certain amount of serenity. My colleagues and I hope we have done the music justice in this album." - Scott Yoo, Director, Festival Mozaic, Violin 1, Mozaic Quartet 

Crossover Media Projects with: Michael Fine