Home » Artists » Schumann

Mitsuko Uchida: Bio

Mitsuko Uchida is a performer who brings a deep insight into the music she plays through her own search for truth and beauty. She is renowned for her interpretations of Mozart, Schubert, and Beethoven, both in the concert hall and on CD, but she has also illuminated the music of Berg, Schoenberg, Webern and Boulez for a new generation of listeners. Her recording of the Schoenberg Piano Concerto with Pierre Boulez and the Cleveland Orchestra won four awards, including The Gramophone Award for Best Concerto. Amongst many current projects, Uchida has recently been recording a selection of Mozart's Piano Concerti with the Cleveland Orchestra, directing from the piano: all of the discs in this series have received critical acclaim and one won a Grammy Award in 2011.

Highlights this season include performances with the Berlin Philharmonic and Sir Simon Rattle, Cleveland Orchestra and Leon Fleisher, Chicago Symphony and Riccardo Muti, Bayerischer Rundfunk and Mariss Jansons, London Philharmonic and Vladimir Jurowski, and Tonhalle Orchestra with David Zinman.  She will undertake a recital tour, with venues including Paris' Théâtre des Champs Elysées, Vienna's Musikverein, Chicago's Symphony Center and New York's Carnegie Hall; and a tour of Japan.

Mitsuko Uchida performs with the world's finest orchestras and musicians.  Some recent highlights have been her Artist-in-Residency at the Cleveland Orchestra, where she directed all the Mozart concerti from the keyboard over a number of seasons.  She has also been the focus of a Carnegie Hall Perspectives series entitled ‘Mitsuko Uchida: Vienna Revisited'.  She has featured in the Concertgebouw's Carte Blanche series where she collaborated with Ian Bostridge, the Hagen Quartet, Chamber Orchestra of Europe and Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra as well as directing from the piano a performance of Schönberg's Pierrot Lunaire.  Uchida has also been Artist-in-Residence at the Vienna Konzerthaus, Salzburg Mozartwoche, Lucerne Festival and with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, where she performed a series of chamber music concerts and a Beethoven Piano Concerti cycle with Sir Simon Rattle. 

Mitsuko Uchida records exclusively for Decca and her recordings include the complete Mozart piano sonatas and piano concerti; the complete Schubert piano sonatas; Debussy's Etudes; the five Beethoven piano concerti with Kurt Sanderling; a CD of Mozart Sonatas for Violin and Piano with Mark Steinberg; Die Schöne Müllerin with Ian Bostridge for EMI; the final five Beethoven piano sonatas; and the 2008 recording of Berg's Chamber Concerto with the Ensemble Intercontemporain, Pierre Boulez and Christian Tetzlaff.  Uchida's most recent releases are CD's of Mozart's concerti K.488 and K.491, a second disc of K.466 and K.595, and a third disc of K.271 and K.467, all with Uchida directing the Cleveland Orchestra from the piano; and two acclaimed discs of Schumann's solo piano music.  A DVD featuring a live performance of Schoenberg's Pierrot Lunaire from the Salzburg Festival and an accompanying documentary was released last season by Bel Air and Film+co, in the centennary year of this pivotal work.

Mitsuko Uchida has demonstrated a long-standing commitment to aiding the development of young musicians and is a trustee of the Borletti-Buitoni Trust.  She is also Director of the Marlboro Music Festival. In May 2012 she was awarded the Royal Philharmonic Society's Gold Medal.  In June 2009 she was made a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire. 

1 Schumann: Waldszenen, Op.82/Eintritt  
2 Schumann: Waldszenen, Op.82/Jager auf der Lauer  
3 Schumann: Waldszenen, Op.82/Einsame Blumen  
4 Schumann: Waldszenen, Op.82/Verrufene Stelle  
5 Schumann: Waldszenen, Op.82/Freundliche Landschaft  
6 Schumann: Waldszenen, Op.82/Herberge  
7 Schumann: Waldszenen, Op.82/Vogel als Prophet  
8 Schumann: Waldszenen, Op.82/Jagdlied  
9 Schumann: Waldszenen, Op.82/Abschied  
10 Schumann: Piano Sonata #2 in Gm, Op.22/So rasch wie moglich  
11 Schumann: Piano Sonata #2 in Gm, Op.22/Andantino  
12 Schumann: Piano Sonata #2 in Gm, Op.22/Scherzo  
13 Schumann: Piano Sonata #2 in Gm, Op.22/Rondo  
14 Schumann: Gesange der Fruhe, Op.133/Im ruhigen Tempo  
15 Schumann: Gesange der Fruhe, Op.133/Belebt, nicht zu rasch  
16 Schumann: Gesange der Fruhe, Op.133/Lebhaft  
17 Schumann: Gesange der Fruhe, Op.133/Bewegt  
18 Schumann: Gesange der Fruhe, Op.133/Im Anfang ruhiges  
19 Schumann: Im Herbste  
'Is Talent Enough?' Mitsuko Uchida starts the debate
Interview with Mitsuko Uchida 2008
Mitsuko Uchida discusses and demonstrates The Debussy Etudes

or her latest Decca album, Dame Mitsuko Uchida places Schumann's turbulent Piano Sonata No. 2 in G minor Op. 22 in company with his romantic Waldszenen ("Forest Scenes") Op. 82, begun in the revolutionary year of 1848, and the Gesänge der Frühe ("Songs of Dawn") Op. 133, transcendent creations written shortly before his confinement in a mental asylum. Dame Mitsuko's empathic understanding of the contrasting character and moods of each work and ability to portray them in sound underline her status among the greatest pianists of our time.

24 New 'ON' this week: 89 TOTAL
PRI/Classical 24, CBC
Direct: SiriusXM, Galaxy, Music Choice
Markets include: New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, San Francisco, Boston, Philadelphia, Wash DC, Atlanta, Seattle, Cleveland, Minneapolis, Houston, St. Louis, Denver, Portland, Cincinnati, Pittsburgh, New Orleans, Buffalo NY, Tampa, Canada
Online: Taintradio, RadioIO, WGOE