Home » Stories » The Metropolitan Opera is streaming family-crisis operas every night this week / Time Out NY

Top 10 for Jan

The Metropolitan Opera is streaming family-crisis operas every night this week / Time Out NY

Bookmark and Share

The Metropolitan Opera has officially suspended live performances until September, but New York's premier opera venue continues to entertain opera lovers everywhere by streaming complete recordings from its archives every night of the week. From November 23 through November 29, just in time for what promises to be a particularly fraught Thanksgiving for many American families, the Met is focusing on& dramatic operas about family turmoil, including classics by Verdi, Wagner, Strauss and Donizetti and Thomas and a 2017 work by Nico Muhly. All but one of the productions were recorded in high definition as part of the Met's cinema-oriented Live in HD series.  

Each production goes live on the Met's website at 7:30pm EST (12:30am GMT) and remains viewable there until the next days at 6:30pm EST. Viewers can also watch the operas through the Met Opera on Demand app on various devices. A full schedule for Week 37 is below.

READ THE FULL Time Out ARTICLE