Choose artist...
Nigel Kennedy

Vivaldi - The New Four Seasons

Sony Masterworks

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Interview with Nigel Kennedy (violin)

Tour Dates

1 Spring: 1 Melodious Incantation  
2 Spring: 2 Transitoire #  
3 Spring: 3 The Goatherd Sleeps With His Trusty Dog Beside Him  
4 Spring: 4 Transitoire ##  
5 Spring: 5 Nymphs And Shepherds Dance  
6 Summer: 6 Destiny  
7 Summer: 7 Transitoire #  
8 Summer: 8 Fear  
9 Summer: 9 Transitoire ##  
10 Summer: 10 His Fears Are Only Too True  
11 Autumn: 11 The Peasant Celebrates The Rich Harvest  
12 Autumn: 12 Transitoire #  
13 Autumn: 13 Pleasure Of Sweetest Slumber  
14 Autumn: 14 Transitoire ##  
15 Autumn: 15 Horns, Guns, And Dogs  
16 Winter: 16 Prolitoire #  
17 Winter: 17 To Shiver, Frozen  
18 Winter: 18 The Rain Outside  
19 Winter: 19 Transitoire #  
20 Winter: 20 Walk On The Ice  
21 Winter: 21 The End  
Show all tracks

In 1989 Nigel Kennedy made his breakthrough recording of Vivaldi's Four Seasons. In his sleeve notes to that famous release, Kennedy stressed that he had rejected the idea of playing Vivaldi's suite of violin concertos in either the "authentic" fashion, using period instruments, or in the more florid "romantic" style. Now, in 2015, Kennedy returns with a completely fresh take on The Four Seasons, but while the music sounds hugely different, his creative attitude is the same. Once again he has set out to prove that The Four Seasons is timeless, and in his opinion there's no reason why Vivaldi's masterpiece shouldn't be opened up to embrace developments in musical instrument technology, or even new musical styles undreamt of in Vivaldi's 18th century world. 

23 NEW  28 Total
Direct: Music Choice, MOOD
Markets include: New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, San Francisco, Philadelphia, Atlanta, Seattle, Cleveland, St. Louis, Minneapoliis, Baltimore, Portland, Detroit, New Orleans, Pittsburgh, Austin, Honolulu, Canada
Online: Taintradio

Go to artist details