Choose artist...
Ofra Harnoy

Back to Bach


Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



1 Bach (Arr. Mike Herriott): Six Sonates en Duo - Sonate No. 1, TWV 40.118: I. Vivace  
2 II. Adagio  
3 III. Allegro  
4 Toccata, Adagio, and Fugue in C Major, BWV 564: Adagio  
5 Sonata for Cello No. 3 in F Major: I. Adagio (Arr. for Cello and Brass)  
6 II. Allegro  
7 III. Largo  
8 Sonata for Cello No. 3 in F Major: IV. Allegro  
9 Violin Concerto in E Major, BWV 1042: Adagio  
10 Sonata No. 8 in D Minor, Op. 5: I. Preludio  
11 II. Allemanda  
12 III. Sarabanda  
13 IV. Giga  
14 Bist du bei mir  
15 Sonata No. 5 in B-flat Major, Op. 5: I. Adagio  
16 Miserere mei, Deus  
17 Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D Major, BWV 1068: II. Air  
Show all tracks

This album presents a number of tried and true Baroque favourites on the cello, such as Bach's "Air" from Orchestral Suite No. 3, "Bist Du Bei Mir," as well as some slightly lesser known gems from composers such as Allegri and Corelli, which Ofra Harnoy interprets with the profound musicality and passion she is known for.

In Ofra's early Baroque recordings, many works were accompanied with organ, chamber orchestra, or harpsichord. For this album, however, rather than revisiting the conventional settings for these works, she has decided to use brass as accompaniment for some works, and, for the works by Telemann and Allegri, has created a cello ensemble through overdubbing and multi-tracking techniques. As much as it is a treat to hear her play this music as soloist, that joy is multiplied in hearing her play each of the nine voices of Allegri's Miserere.

Go to artist details