Choose artist...
Ofra Harnoy

On the Rock


Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



St John's Waltz
Ofra Harnoy's take on Sonny's Dream
Let Me Fish Off Cape St Mary's
1 She's Like the Swallow  
2 Saltwater Joys  
3 Donald Willie and His Dog  
4 St. John's Waltz / Cara's Waltz  
5 Green Shores of Fogo  
6 Sonny's Dream  
7 Let Me Fish Off Cape St. Mary's  
8 Two Ronnies  
9 Cliffs of Baccalieu  
10 Harbour Buffett Double  
11 Mussels in the Corner  
12 Barrett's Privateers  
13 Petty Harbour Bait Skiff  
14 Lonely Waterloo  
Show all tracks

For her second recording on the Analekta label, On the Rock, superstar cellist and five-time Juno Award winner Ofra Harnoy was inspired to celebrate the sounds and spirit of Newfoundland. Upon visiting "The Rock" in the summer of 2018, the cellist immediately fell in love with the place and its people. "The more I explore this beautiful island and get to know the people, food, and the culture, the more I feel Newfoundland becoming a part of me. Through these songs I can really express the wonderful connection I have with my new home," says Harnoy. 

Her husband, Mike Herriott, multi-instrumentalist, arranger and co-producer of the album, adds "With the guidance and contribution of Bob Hallett, we were able to compile a selection of songs, jigs, and reels that Ofra felt she really connected with and that told a story of what she has come to know and love about the province."

Go to artist details