Choose artist...
Paul Merkelo

The Enlightened Trumpet, with Oxford Philharmonic

Sony Classical

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


behind the scenes
WGBH Music: Trumpeter Paul Merkelo plays Enesco's "Legend"
1 Haydn: Allegro  
2 Telemann: Adagio  
3 Hummel: Allegro con spirito  
4 Leopold Mozart: Andante  
5 Haydn: Andante  
6 Telemann: Allegro  
7 Hummel: Andante  
8 Leopold Mozart: Allegro Moderato  
9 Haydn: Allegro  
10 Telemann: Grave  
11 Hummel: Rondo  
12 Telemann: Allegro  
Show all tracks

Recognized among the finest trumpet virtuosos of his generation, Paul Merkelo releases The Enlightened Trumpet, his first recording for Sony Classical. Hailed as "a spectacular soloist ... a most impressive master of his instrument" (Montreal Gazette) who "knows no limits" (Der Spiegel) and with "unusual lyrical gifts" (Gramophone), Merkelo has been Principal trumpet with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal since 1995, and has appeared as soloist with prestigious orchestras around the globe, from Melbourne to Shanghai. In The Enlightened Trumpet, Merkelo is joined by the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra and its founder and conductor Marios Papadopoulos for four spectacular concertos by Haydn, Leopold Mozart, Telemann, and Hummel.

Go to artist details