Choose artist...
Pete Townshend

Classic Quadrophenia

Deutsche Grammophon

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Pete Townshend: Classic Quadrophenia (Trailer)
Pete Townshend - Classic Quadrophenia - Love Reign O'er Me ft. Alfie Boe
1 I Am The Sea  
2 The Real Me  
3 Quadrophenia  
4 Cut My Hair  
5 The Punk And The Godfather  
6 I'm One  
7 The Dirty Jobs  
8 Helpless Dancer  
9 Is It In My Head  
10 I've Had Enough  
11 5_15  
12 Sea And Sand  
13 Drowned  
14 Bell Boy  
15 Doctor Jimmy  
16 The Rock  
17 Love Reign O'er Me  
Show all tracks

A leading icon of the British music revolution of the 1960s, Pete Townshend made his name by creating the power chord, smashing guitars on stage, and penning anthems of teenage rebellion like My Generation. Now, approaching 70 and half a century after he penned the archetypal rock lyric "Hope I die before I get old," Townshend has created a "classical" version of one of The Who's landmark albums – Quadrophenia – called: Classic Quadrophenia, for a symphony orchestra, opera singer and choir. This new version released by Deutsche Grammophon/Universal Music Classics was orchestrated by Rachel Fuller. The album features Alfie Boe as Jimmy, Pete Townshend as The Godfather, Billy Idol as Ace Face/Bell Boy and Phil Daniels  (the star who played Jimmy in the original movie version of Quadrophenia).  as Dad. Also featured on the recording are the London Oriana Choir with Choirmaster Dominic Peckham, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Robert Ziegler and orchestrations by Rachel Fuller. 

27 NEW  33 TOTAL
Sixty Second CD
Direct: MOOD
Markets include: New York, Los Angeles, Baltimore, Jacksonville, Charleston SC, Tucson, Boise, Omaha
Online: USA Today, Ultimate Classic Rock, Billboard

Go to artist details