Choose artist...
Raphael Feuillatre

Visages Baroques

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: March 31, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Couperin: V. Les barricades mysterieuses (Arr. Antoine Fougeray for Guitar)
1 J.S. Bach: The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 1, BWV 846-869 / I. Prelude 01:56  
2 Royer: Pièces de clavecin, Book 1: No. 6, L'aimable 4:29  
3 J.S. Bach: Concerto No. 1 in D Major, BWV 972 I. Allegro 02:30  
4 II. Larghetto 04:07  
5 III. Allegro 02:35  
6 Rameau: L'entretien des muses, RCT 3/6 05:46  
7 Rameau: Les cyclopes, RCT 3/8 03:49  
8 J.S. Bach: Partita in B-Flat Major, BWV 825: I. Prelude 02:16  
9 II. Allemande 03:50  
10 III. Courante 03:10  
11 IV. Sarabande 05:24  
12 V. Menuet I 01:42  
13 VI. Menuet II 01:34  
14 VII. Gigue 02:29  
15 Forqueray: Suite No. 1 in D Minor: No. 4, La Bellmont 03:46  
16 Duphly: Pièces de clavecin, Book 3: No. 4, La Forqueray 04:58  
17 Book 3: No. 6, Médée 04:38  
18 J.S. Bach: Violin Partita No. 3 in E Major, BWV 1006: III. Gavotte en Rondeau 03:22  
Show all tracks

“My first album for Deutsche Grammophon stems from a desire to share my love for Baroque music,” says rising-star French guitarist Raphaël Feuillâtre. Visages baroques, presents music by J.S. Bach and his French contemporaries Forqueray, Rameau, Royer and Duphly. The carefully curated programme translates works mostly conceived for solo harpsichord into the colourful soundworld of the guitar. They are performed by the first guitarist signed to DG in many years, an artist hailed as “a tremendously versatile and sensitive player” (Classical Guitar).

“The title Visages baroques (“Baroque Faces”) refers to the new aspect given to each work by its arrangement and to the different facets of the guitar highlighted by the diverse selection of music,” explains Feuillâtre, who also notes the valuable additions to the guitar repertoire represented by these transcriptions, several of them unpublished. The musicians behind them include his teachers Michel Grizard and Judicaël Perroy, fellow French guitarist Antoine Fougeray, and German guitarist Gerhard Reichenbach, as well as Feuillâtre himself.

Visages baroques features two large-scale works by Bach, the first of which is the Concerto in D major BWV 972, itself a transcription for harpsichord of a violin concerto from Vivaldi’s L’estro armonico. Judicaël Perroy’s arrangement preserves the sense of solo and accompanying strings and, adds Feuillâtre, “brings a brightness and a virtuosic, orchestral dimension to the programme”.

Go to artist details