Home » Artists » The Passion of Yeshua

Richard Danielpour: Bio

Award-winning composer Richard Danielpour has established himself as one of the most gifted and sought-after composers of his generation. His music has attracted an international and illustrious array of champions, and, as a devoted mentor and educator, he has also had a significant impact on the younger generation of composers. His list of commissions includes celebrated artists such as Yo-Yo Ma, Jessye Norman, Dawn Upshaw, Emanuel Ax, Gil Shaham, Frederica von Stade, Thomas Hampson, Gary Graffman, Anthony McGill, the Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio, the Guarneri and Emerson String Quartets, the New York City and Pacific Northwest Ballets, and institutions such as the New York Philharmonic, the Philadelphia Orchestra, the Mariinsky and Vienna Chamber Orchestras, the Orchestre National de France, the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, and many more. With Nobel Laureate Toni Morrison, Danielpour created Margaret Garner, his first opera, which premiered in 2005 and had a second production with the New York City Opera. He has received the American Academy of Arts and Letters Charles Ives Fellowship, a Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship, the Joseph H. Bearns Prize from Columbia University, and fellowships and residencies from the MacDowell Colony, Yaddo, Copland House, and the American Academies in Berlin and Rome. He served on the composition faculty of the Manhattan School of Music from 1993 to 2017. Danielpour recently relocated to Los Angeles where he has accepted the position of professor of music at the UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music. He is also a member of the faculty of the Curtis Institute of Music where he has taught since 1997. Danielpour has a vast discography, and many of his recordings can be found on the Naxos and Sony Classical labels. Danielpour's music is published by Lean Kat Music and Associated Music Publishers.   

1 I. Prologue 5:30  
2 II. Pesach 5:14  
3 III. Ritual. Duet 4:36  
4 IV. Betrayal 6:46  
5 V. Intermezzo. In the Valley of the Shadow of Death 6:04  
6 VI. Gethsemane 13:01  
7 VII. Interlude 3:56  
8 VIII. In the Palace of the High Priest 6:13  
9 IX. Kefa's Denial 10:11  
10 X. Yeshua Before Pilate 9:57  
11 XI. Behold the Man 8:39  
12 XII. Via Dolorosa 12:09  
13 XIII. Darkness over the Land 5:50  
14 XIV. Epilogue 4:53  
Mini Documentary
JoAnn Falletta discusses BPO - Buffalo Philharmonic Chorus performance
UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music doc
Creators + Innovators

Richard Danielpour's World Premiere Recording, The Passion of Yeshua led by JoAnn Falletta with the Buffalo Philharmonic



Richard Danielpour's newest oratorio, The Passion of Yeshua, a world premiere recording, is now available on Naxos. Presented and commissioned by the GRAMMY Award-winning Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra and Music Director JoAnn Falletta, the two-CD set also features a superb group of soloists led by Hila Plitmann (soprano), J'Nai Bridges (mezzo soprano), Kenneth Overton (baritone), Matthew Worth (baritone), Timothy Fallon (tenor) and James Bass (bass) with the Buffalo Philharmonic Chorus (Andrew Luebke, Director) and the UCLA Chamber Singers (James Bass, Director).

Crossover Media Projects with: Richard Danielpour