Choose artist...
Rick Cutler

Women & Children

New Dude Records

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Rick 'Machine' Cutler Grooving
1 The Blues Matters 6:20  
2 Etude 2:13  
3 A Day's Work 3:12  
4 One For Ed 5:01  
5 Green 4:14  
6 Time 6:49  
7 Paris After Midnight 5: 52  
8 Hymn #4 2:45  
9 Japanese Mist 3:46  
10 Dee Too 7:01  
11 Trance 1:44  
12 Women & Children 9:42  
Show all tracks

Women & Children is Rick Cutler's fifth album. The album, which he produced, expands on his previous work by including ensembles of different sizes, from solo to quintet. Women & Children is rich with jazz, classical as well as folk influences.

All of the pieces are written by Cutler with the exception of Time, written by Tom Waits. His process, for the most part, is to write a piece without any thought as to who or what inspiration is involved. When it's finished, he'll play it a few times and try to get an idea for a title. It usually comes from either what thoughts or feelings come to mind or something regarding the mood or form of the piece.

Cutler plays drums on One For Ed, Dee Too and Paris After Midnight. On these, he has Mark Soskin on piano who was Sonny Rollins' pianist for decades.

Go to artist details