Choose artist...
Robert Stallman

The Nightingale in Love

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Mozart Among Friends - Robert Stallman, Isabelle Chapuis, & Mark Anderson - Sinfonia Concertante
1 Boismortier: Suite in A Major  
2 Philidor: Sonata in D Minor, Lentement  
3 Philidor: Sonata in D Minor, Fugue  
4 Philidor: Sonata in D Minor, Courante  
5 Philidor: Sonata in D Minor, Gracieusement  
6 Philidor: Sonata in D Minor, Fugue  
7 de La Barre: Suite in G Major, Sonate  
8 de La Barre: Suite in G Major, Chaconne  
9 Couperin: Concert Royal IV, Prelude  
10 Couperin: Concert Royal IV, Allemande  
11 Couperin: Concert Royal IV, Courante Francoise  
12 Couperin: Concert Royal IV, Courante a l'Italienne  
13 Couperin: Concert Royal IV, Sarabande  
14 Couperin: Concert Royal IV, Rigaudon  
15 Couperin: Concert Royal IV, Forlande/Rondeau  
16 Marais: Les Folies d'Espagne Variations  
17 Couperin: Musette de Taverny  
18 Couperin: Le Rossignol en amour  
Show all tracks

The Bogner's Cafe label presents Robert Stallman in "The Nightingale in Love", a collection of Flute Music of the Late French Baroque. With works by Boismortier, Couperin, de La Barre, Marais and Philidor, Stallman reveals the cultural crosscurrents that gave the flute a central role in the development of French chamber music in the early years of the 18th century. As the flutist who, according to the London Times, "dazzles because of his penetrating artistry", Stallman has recently won kudos here and abroad for performances of his compelling quartet and quintet transcriptions of Mozart and Schubert, recorded for Bogner's Cafe. The Calgary Herald noted that, solely on the basis of his masterful Baroque recordings, Stallman "deserves to be a household name". No flutist better captures the sensuous lyricism, incisive rhythms and highly expressive ornamentation of the French Baroque. And with his characteristic beauty of sound and communicative warmth, supported by his longtime partnership with the superb continuo team of Edwin Swanborn (harpsichord) and Karl Bennion (cello), Robert Stallman once again offers a most appealing invitation to listening pleasure.

7 New ON this week 112 Total
Direct: SiriusXM/Classics
Markets include: New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, San Francisco, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis, St. Louis, Atlanta, Houston, Denver, Pittsburgh, Detroit, New Orleans, Indianapolis, Memphis, Honolulu, Berkeley CA, Sacramento, Columbus OH, Canada
Online: RadioIO, Muruch, Clevelandclassical, MusiClassical, LibraryPreviews, oboeinsight, Taintradio, WGOE

Go to artist details