Choose artist...
Smaro Gregoriadou

A Healing Fire


Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


J. S. Bach: Violin Sonata II BWV 1003
1 J.S. Bach: Violin Sonata No. 2 in A Minor, BWV 1003 / Grave  
2 Fuga  
3 Andante  
4 Allegro  
5 Benjamin Britten: Nocturnal after John Dowland, Op. 70  
6 Sofia Gubaidulina - Serenade for solo guitar  
7 Jacques Hetu: Suite pour guitare, Op. 41 / Prelude  
8 Nocturne  
9 Ballade  
10 Reverie  
11 Final  
Show all tracks

As the innovative, world-renowned guitarist Smaro Gregoriadou says in her notes for this stunning new recording, her fourth for Delos, its music offers "encouragement and hope," and illuminates with "a different kind of light, a different sort of fire."

The program begins with her beautiful transcription of Bach's beloved Solo Violin Sonata #2 and offers Britten's fascinating Nocturnal, along with works by Gubaidulina and Hétu. As Raymond Tuttle put it, in a Fanfare review of one of Smaro's earlier Delos releases, "Gregoriadou evokes musicians such as Vladimir Horowitz, Glenn Gould, and Wanda Landowska in her willingness to find a new way to express herself and to reanimate the music."

Go to artist details