Home » Artists » Human Music

Solomon Grey: Bio

London-based musical duo Solomon Grey comprises musicians Tom Kingston and Joe Wilson, who initially met in Wilson's hometown of Oxford. Bonding through their shared love of music, the duo soon started being creative together, drawing influences from James Murphy and Little Dragon. It wasn't until they made a move to the West Coast of Ireland, without the distractions of the city life in London, that they made music under the Solomon Grey moniker. After a while, Kingston decided to move to Australia but was soon to be followed by Wilson; they moved their studio equipment, too, and the pair would spend two years there writing and producing music and honing their sound. Upon their return to the U.K. in early 2013, the duo teamed up with the Black Butter label to release their debut single "Gen V" to critical acclaim, especially on British national radio station BBC Radio One. Its follow-up "Firefly" followed in late 2013. Aside from their main focus on the band, the pair also scored soundtracks for film and television with the The Wild Atlantic Way, a film created for Irish tourism, as well as the BFI feature film Gozo. Third single "Electric Baby" arrived accompanied by an interactive video created in conjunction with Google. The vocal work of Solomon Grey has been lent to a variety of projects, including U.S. deep house producer Lane 8 for his 2014 single "Diamonds."

1 The Weight
2 Closed Door
3 Wonderful World
4 Gaslight
5 Elements
6 Inside Outside
7 Willow House
8 Clouds
9 The Game
10 In Love
11 Departed
Solomon Grey - Human Music (Album Trailer)
Wonderful World
Solomon Grey: Talk about the album
How My Mother's Assisted Suicide Inspired Our Album
Wonderful world, plants montage - Solomon Grey

Human Music is a collection of intricately crafted songs showcasing the band's cinematic-style emotive soundscapes. The album delves into themes of choice, love and loss, and was written by the band at the time singer Joe's mum was diagnosed with a terminal illness. The album was influenced by her passing. Solomon Grey explain, "The album is fundamentally about exploring loss and finding out how integral it is to life. That's where it started for us but it can mean whatever you want it to."

Crossover Media Projects with: Solomon Grey