Choose artist...
Third Coast Percussion, Devonte Hynes


Cedille Records

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Fields - Devonte Hynes and Third Coast Percussion
1 For All Its Fury (35:29) / Reach (2:32)  
2 Blur (1:40)  
3 Coil (3:54)  
4 Wane (1:22)  
5 Curl (1:26)  
6 Hush (1:53)  
7 Gather (5:53)  
8 Tremble (1:52)  
9 Cradle (5:25)  
10 Press (3:27)  
11 Fields (6:05)  
12 Perfectly Voiceless (11:31)  
13 There Was Nothing (13:41)  
Show all tracks

Grammy Award-winning ensemble Third Coast Percussion plays music by international R&B and pop music star Devonté Hynes (aka Blood Orange) on their newest album, Fields, marking Hynes's recording debut as a classical composer. Fields, became available on October 11, 2019, via Cedille Records and features world-premiere recordings of works adapted from music Hynes composed for Third Coast Percussion's 2018 collaboration with modern dance ensemble Hubbard Street Dance Chicago.

Orchestrated, arranged, and performed by Third Coast Percussion, the album's compositions include Hynes's multimovement For All Its Fury, which includes the title track "Fields," Perfectly Voiceless, and There Was Nothing  "Seeing what Third Coast Percussion has done with the pieces is magical," Hynes says Hynes is also credited as a performer on tracks that incorporate prerecorded synthesizer passages originally intended for Third Coast's reference in orchestrating the scores, all of which Hynes composed in a digital audio workstation (DAW).

Go to artist details