Choose artist...
Trio Zimbalist

Piano Trios of Weinberg, Auerbach, & Dvorak

Curtis Studio
Release Date: January 5, 2024

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Piano Trio, Op. 24 by Mieczyslaw Weinberg / I. Präludium and Aria (05:38)  
2 II. Toccata (03:49)  
3 III. Poem (09:21)  
4 IV. Finale (10:44)  
5 Piano Trio No. 1, Op. 28 by Lera Auerbach / I. Prelude (01:36)  
6 II. Andante lamentoso (05:49)  
7 III. Presto (04:39)  
8 Piano Trio No. 4 in E minor, Op. 90, B. 166 “Dumky” by Antonín Dvorák / I. Lento maestoso (03:52)  
9 II. Poco adagio (07:27)  
10 III. Andante (05:48)  
11 IV. Andante moderato (04:43)  
12 V. Allegro (04:17)  
13 VI. Lento maestoso (04:31)  
Show all tracks

Taking their name from famed violin virtuoso and past Curtis Institute of Music director, Efrem Zimbalist, Trio Zimbalist carries on this storied legacy through its commitment to artistic excellence. Lauded for their “liveliness and vigor of playing” (Athinorama) and “precision and feverish intensity” (Greece’s EfSyn), all three members are distinguished Curtis alumni. In demand across Europe and the U.S. as soloists, chamber musicians, and recitalists, they form an inimitable ensemble with repertoire spanning Romantic masterworks to today’s most beloved composers.

This album of piano trios by Mieczyslaw Weinberg, Lera Auerbach, and Antonín Dvorák is cast in the spirit of the Dumka, containing works composed under the shadows of troubled and traumatic political histories. Dumka is a Ukrainian term meaning “thought,” and in classical music, it is a type of epic, Slavic ballad. Dumky were sung by traveling minstrels, usually Ukrainian, who played some kind of strummed instrument (e.g. the bandura, kobza, or lira). Often their songs would contain a thoughtful or melancholic lament of oppressed peoples. Dvorák used this form as the foundation of his “Dumky” Trio, which was on Trio Zimbalist's first program together and maintains a special place in their repertoire. The work’s significance transcends the passage of time, finding renewed depth as the echoes of ongoing conflicts reverberate through our lives.



Go to artist details