Choose artist...


Decca Classics
Release Date: November 3, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Handel: Joy to the World (Arr. Taylor Scott Davis))
Kirkpatrick: Away in a Manger (Arr. Taylor Scott Davis)
The Sleeping Child (Bob Chilcott)
'In Dulci Jubilo' arr. Robert Pearsall
Voces8 - The Interview
Singing Brussels - VOCES8 at BOZAR 2018
Worthy is the Lamb and Amen Chorus from 'Messiah' by G.F. Handel
1 Joy to the World  
2 Away in a Manger  
3 Chilcott: The Sleeping Child  
4 O Come, All Ye Faithful  
5 Davis: Magnificat: I. Magnificat anima mea  
6 II. Shall I Rejoice  
7 III. Et misericordia  
8 IV. Deposuit  
9 V. Gloria Patri  
10 O Come, O Come Emmanuel  
11 Silent Night  
12 In Dulci Jubilo  
13 Gabriel's Message `  
14 Hewitt Jones: A Christmas Cracker  
15 Anderson: Sleigh Ride  
Show all tracks

Joined by the VOCES8 Foundation Choir and Orchestra conducted by Barnaby Smith, internationally acclaimed, Grammy-nominated ensemble VOCES8 is pleased to announce the release of its new album 'A Choral Christmas' on Decca Classics on 3 November. Capturing the essence of Christmas, the album is packed full of choral/orchestral world premieres and fresh arrangements of favourite carols, breathing new life into Holiday classics, and lending a luxurious, and contemporary cinematic sparkle to this year’s festive season. 

The tracklist features eight world premiere recordings: the album’s substantial five-movement centrepiece, ‘Magnificat’, by rising American composer Taylor Scott Davis, which will be premiered at Carnegie Hall, New York in May 2024; an intimate and serene new a cappella carol, ‘The Sleeping Child’, written especially for VOCES8 by British composer Bob Chilcott; six sparkling new carol arrangements for choir and orchestra including ‘Joy to the World’, ‘Silent Night’, ‘O Come, All Ye Faithful’ – five penned by Taylor Scott Davis and ‘Gabriel’s Message’ by Jim Clements.

The album ends with two fun-filled instrumental encores including Leroy Anderson’s Holiday favourite ‘Sleigh Ride’ and Thomas Hewitt-Jones’ medley ‘A Christmas Cracker’. The album features a solo from violinist Thomas Gould and solos from renowned British/German violinist Jack Liebeck who also guest leads the VOCES8 Foundation Orchestra.
Conducted by Co-founder, Artistic Director and Countertenor of VOCES8, Barnaby Smith, these ravishing performances were recorded in 2021, originally for the widely acclaimed LIVE from London festival, an online series described as "One of the brightest deeds of the lockdown” by the Financial Times. Barnaby explains: “This music filled my life with the joy I needed in 2021, and I sincerely hope it brings you fun and festive cheer. I’m thrilled it has found a life beyond its original conception and proud to set it free into the world, where I hope it will reach as many households as Santa himself.”

Go to artist details