Home » Artists » Cyrillus Kreek - The Suspended Harp of Babel

Vox Clamantis: Bio

Vox Clamantis comprises musicians with different backgrounds – singers, composers, instrumentalists and conductors – who share a common interest in the Gregorian chant, early polyphony and contemporary music. Many Estonian composers – among them Arvo Pärt, Helena Tulve and Erkki-Sven Tüür – have written for Vox Clamantis.


Manchester International Festival

La Folle Journée in France

La Folle Journée in Japan

La Folle Journée in Warsaw

La Roque d'Anthéron in France

Vale of Glammorgan in Wales

Festival Intérnational de la Musique Sacrée in Fribourg (Switzerland)

Usedom Music Festival in Germany

Flandria festival in Belgium

Jerusalem Sacred Music Festival in Israel

Istanbul Music Festival in Turkey

Québec Sacred Music Festival in Canada



Catalan soprano Arianna Savall, Italian nyckelharpa player Marco Ambrosini, Israeli oud player Yair Dalal, Tunisian singer Dhafer Youssef, French pianists Brigitte Engerer, Claire-Marie Le Guay and Jean-Claude Pennetier, Cello Octet Amsterdam. Continuous collaboration with different musicians has inspired the birth of impromptu programmes, based on improvisation.



The CD Arvo Pärt «Adam's Lament» (conductor Tõnu Kaljuste, ECM) won GRAMMY Award for Best Choral Performance in 2014. The film featuring Vox Clamantis music, The Great Beauty (La Grande Bellezza), received an Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film.

Vox Clamantis

Cyrillus Kreek - The Suspended Harp of Babel


Click Here For Artist Stories

1 Kreek: The Sun Shall Not Smite Thee  
2 Whilst Great Is Our Poverty  
3 Jacob's Dream  
4 From Heaven Above to Earth  
5 Bless the Lord, My Soul  
6 Awake, My Heart  
7 Orthodox Vespers  
8 Do the Birds Worry?  
9 Lord, I Cry unto Thee  
10 He, Who Lets God Prevail  
11 By the Rivers of Babylon  
12 The Last Dance  
13 Machaut: O Jesus, Thy Pain  

Vox Clamantis, under the direction of Jaan-Eik Tulve, has established itself as Estonia's foremost small vocal ensemble, at home in the worlds of both old and new music. Their ECM New Series discography, accordingly, has ranged from Gregorian chant and Perotin (as on Filia Sion) to present-day composers including Arvo Pärt (The Deer's Cry), Erkki-Sven Tüür (Oxymoron) and Helena Tulve (Arboles lloran por lluvia). On The Suspended Harp of Babel Vox Clamantis turns its attention to Cyrillus Kreek (1889-1962), whose work also took nourishment from ancient sources as well as from contemporaneous musical currents.