Home » Artists » The Deer's Cry music by Arvo Part

Vox Clamantis: Bio

Vox Clamantis comprises musicians with different backgrounds – singers, composers, instrumentalists and conductors – who share a common interest in the Gregorian chant, early polyphony and contemporary music. Many Estonian composers – among them Arvo Pärt, Helena Tulve and Erkki-Sven Tüür – have written for Vox Clamantis.


Manchester International Festival

La Folle Journée in France

La Folle Journée in Japan

La Folle Journée in Warsaw

La Roque d'Anthéron in France

Vale of Glammorgan in Wales

Festival Intérnational de la Musique Sacrée in Fribourg (Switzerland)

Usedom Music Festival in Germany

Flandria festival in Belgium

Jerusalem Sacred Music Festival in Israel

Istanbul Music Festival in Turkey

Québec Sacred Music Festival in Canada



Catalan soprano Arianna Savall, Italian nyckelharpa player Marco Ambrosini, Israeli oud player Yair Dalal, Tunisian singer Dhafer Youssef, French pianists Brigitte Engerer, Claire-Marie Le Guay and Jean-Claude Pennetier, Cello Octet Amsterdam. Continuous collaboration with different musicians has inspired the birth of impromptu programmes, based on improvisation.



The CD Arvo Pärt «Adam's Lament» (conductor Tõnu Kaljuste, ECM) won GRAMMY Award for Best Choral Performance in 2014. The film featuring Vox Clamantis music, The Great Beauty (La Grande Bellezza), received an Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film.

Vox Clamantis

The Deer's Cry music by Arvo Part


Click Here For Artist Stories

1 Part: The Deer's Cry  
2 Part: Von Angesicht zu Angesicht  
3 Part: Alleluia-Tropus  
4 Part: Virgencita  
5 Part: Veni Creator  
6 Part: Drei Hirtenkinder aus Fatima  
7 Part: And One Of The Pharisees  
8 Part: Da Pacem Domine  
9 Part: Most Holy Mother Of God  
10 Part: Sei gelobt, du Baum  
11 Part: Habitare Fratres In Unum  
12 Part: Summa  
13 Part: Gebet nach dem Kanon  
Arvo P?rt The Deer?s Cry - Vox Clamantis, Jaan-Eik Tulve

The second ECM New Series album to fully showcase Estonian vocal group Vox Clamantis is devoted to compositions by their great countryman, Arvo Pärt – whose music has been the most performed globally of any living composer over the past five years from his 75th birthday leading up to his 80th last September. This album – titled The Deer's Cry after its first track, an incantatory work for a cappella mixed choir – is also the latest in a long, illustrious line of ECM New Series releases to feature Pärt's compositions, the very music that inspired Manfred Eicher to establish the New Series imprint in 1984. Along with such classic works as Da Pacem Domine,the new album includes first-time recordings of the a cappella pieces Drei Hirtenkinder aus Fátimaand Habitare Fratres. There is also an a cappella version of Alleluia-Tropus, which Vox Clamantis previously recorded alongside instruments for the Grammy Award-winning ECM New Series album Adam's Lament. Rarely recorded material makes up nearly half of this new release, which includes three pieces with subtle instrumental accompaniment: Von Angesicht zu Angesicht, Sei gelobt, du Baumand Veni Creator.

Classical 24, CBC
Direct: MOOD
Markets include: New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Philadelphia, Wash DC, Atlanta, Denver, Minneapolis, Houston, Cleveland, Seattle, Cincinnati, Detroit, Austin, New Orleans, Louisville, Toledo, Lincoln NE KS(Statewide), Honolulu, Canada
Online: AccuRadio