Choose artist...
William Susman

Scatter My Ashes w/OCTET ENSEMBLE

Belarca Records

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 CAMILLE I. Vitality 3:35  
2 II. Tranquility 3:06  
3 III. Triumph 2:46  
4 SCATTER MY ASHES Scatter My Ashes 2:08  
5 The Night Tree 3:16  
6 Even in the Dark 1:49  
7 Only Clear Space Inside 1:44  
8 Eternal Light 3:21  
9 PIANO CONCERTO I. Build-Decay II. Glide III. Spin IV. Jagged V. Ripple Cadenza VI. Shimmer  
11 Begging the Night for Change 2:47  
12 Moving in to an Empty Space 3:50  
Show all tracks

OCTET''s inaugural album has been recorded over the past few years with renowned engineer John Kilgore and was released by Naxos on the label Belarca. The album features the music of William Susman including two song cycles (with poems by his sister Sue Susman) Scatter My Ashes and Moving in to an Empty Space performed by soprano Mellissa Hughes, as well as his Piano Concerto and the ensemble work Camille.

OCTET takes the instrumentation of the American big band and scales it down to a brass section of saxophone, trumpet, and trombone and a rhythm section of piano, electric piano, double bass and drums plus vocals.

"William Susman's remarkable achievement is to take the familiar instrumentation of American popular music, harmonic and rhythmic influences from jazz and Afro-Cuban music and sinuous melodic lines that are uniquely his own and weave them into something new and fresh, yet timeless and haunting. Memorable yet enigmatic, simple yet profound, Susman's music is irresistible." - John Kilgore (Grammy Award-Winning Classical Engineer)

Scatter my Ashes reached No. 1 on Amazon's Classical Hot New Releases, No. 8 on Billboard's Classical and was featured in iTunes Classical New and Noteworthy.

Go to artist details