Choose artist...
Wolfert Brederode

Ruins and Remains

Release Date: September 23, 2022

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



1 Ruins I 3:02  
2 Swallow 3:35  
3 Remains 1:46  
4 Cloudless 5:29  
5 Ruins And Remains 5:00  
6 Ka 3:31  
7 Ruins II 5:14  
8 Duhra 3:22  
9 Ruins III 2:00  
10 Retrouvailles 1:49  
11 Nothing For Granted 5:17  
12 Dissolve 2:57  
13 March 1:14  
14 Ruins IV 3:24  
Show all tracks

For his fourth ECM release as a leader, following the acclaimed quartet albums Currents and Post-Scriptum as well as the trio record Black Ice, Dutch pianist Wolfert Brederode introduces a very different, and very special, project. Ruins and Remains is a suite for piano, string quartet and percussion. Originally composed by Brederode in response to a commission for music to mark the 100th anniversary of the end of World War I, the piece was premiered in November 2018. In the interim, however, it has come to embody meanings broader and more personal. “At a number of levels, the music has to do with grief and loss and learning to stand up again,” Brederode says. There is a vulnerable but resilient quality to the music, as it hovers over its emotional terrain, with moods alternately bleak and guardedly hopeful.

The musicians involved in the project have been friends since student days at The Hague’s Royal Conservatory. The Matangi Quartet, who have collaborated often with Wolfert Brederode in performances of his music for theatre, have meanwhile acquired a reputation as one of Holland’s most versatile string quartets, with a repertoire spanning baroque music, contemporary composition, jazz and more. (Lately they’ve been getting attention for their recordings of Schnittke, Silvestrov and Shostakovich.) Back in 2014, the Matangi Quartet included music by Brederode on one of their own albums, alongside pieces by Louis Andriessen and Chick Corea. As the Ruins and Remains project has progressed, the Matangi players have found increasing freedom inside it, also participating actively in its improvised sections.

Go to artist details