Choose artist...
Wynton Marsalis

The Music Of America

Sony Masterworks

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Jean Louis is Everywhere - Wynton Marsalis Septet at Jazz in Marciac 2014
1994 '60 Minutes' Profile - Wynton Marsalis
Wynton Marsalis - Music is Life
Wynton Marsalis & Ibrahim Maalouf @Jazz_in_Marciac 2018
1 Jazz: 6 1/2 Sync. Mves; Express Crossing  
2 Jazz: 6 1/2 Sync. Mves; Now the Blues  
3 Jump Start - Jump  
4 Station Call  
5 The Caboose  
6 Sweet Release  
7 Go, Possum, Go  
8 Jean-Louis Is Everywhere  
9 For My Kids at the College of Marciac  
10 Sunflowers  
11 At the Octoroon Balls; Hellbound Highball  
12 A Fiddler's Tale Suite; The Fiddler's March  
13 All Rise; Movement 1: Jubal Step  
14 Movement 12: Don't You Run From Me  
15 The Majesty Of The Blues  
16 Jump Start - The Dance  
17 Move Over  
18 Double Rondo On The River  
19 Spring Yaounde  
20 Soul For Sale  
21 Altar Call  
22 In The Sweet Embrace of Life: Holy Ghost  
23 The Death Of Jazz  
24 Oh, But On The Third Day  
Show all tracks

Wynton Marsalis brings you this self-curated collection for The Music of America series.  This 2-CD set blends the diverse musical languages that personify this unique American artist and composer.  The compositions are performed by a diverse group of musicians including the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra, the Orion String Quartet, musicians from the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, and members of The Lincoln Center Jazz Orchestra in various configurations.  Speaking through the voice of a bluesman, parishioner, sophisticate, slave, griot or philosopher, Marsalis brings an eye of a musical historian as he takes us through a musical journey of some of his most outstanding works.  This collection truly personifies Marsalis as the formidable trumpet-player, the world-class composer and an extraordinary contributor to The Invention of Jazz and the Music of America.

Go to artist details